War Girls

By: Tochi Onyebuchi

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs, and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life. Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together. And they’re willing to fight an entire war to get there.

ISBN: 9780451481672

JLG Release: Jan 2020


Sensitive Areas: Drugs, Violence
Topics: Sisters , Cyborgs , War , Survival , Science fiction , Nigeria , Siblings

$17.85  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Current Trends High Plus

Grades 9 & Up

14 titles/year

$249.90/year

Awards & Honors

CPL Best Books - 2019

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal, Booklist*, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly*

School Library Journal

Sisters Onyii and Ify find themselves on opposing sides of a brutal civil war in this Afrofuturist adventure set in 2172 Nigeria. Onyebuchi draws on the history of the Biafran War (also known as the Nigerian Civil War) of the 1960s and sets this story, inspired by actual events, against the backdrop of a futuristic world filled with sleek technolog Sisters Onyii and Ify find themselves on opposing sides of a brutal civil war in this Afrofuturist adventure set in 2172 Nigeria. Onyebuchi draws on the history of the Biafran War (also known as the Nigerian Civil War) of the 1960s and sets this story, inspired by actual events, against the backdrop of a futuristic world filled with sleek technology and brutal war machinery, including bionic modifications for child soldiers and mechanized battle suits. The shifting narration follows Onyii and Ify as well as other characters as they try to find their way back to each other, and themselves, during the war and in the tenuous peace that follows. The sense of happenstance or destiny that continues to bring Onyii and Ify together underscores the arbitrary nature of war and the costs that are paid by everyone in the line of fire. Onyebuchi’s stark narrative is unflinching as he illuminates this little known, and sadly still timely, moment in history. Intense action scenes contrast sharply against an incisive criticism of the costs of senseless battle and the story’s commentary on the powerful bonds that tie family together for better or worse. A bleak but compulsively readable story with high action and high drama in equal measure. Perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi’s novels and the Pacific Rim films.

Book Details

ISBN

9780451481672

First Release

January 2020

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

464

Accelerated Reader

Level 0; Points: 0;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 0; Points: 0;

Lexile

Level

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Razorbill

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Drugs, Violence

Topics

Sisters, Cyborgs, War, Survival, Science fiction, Nigeria, Siblings,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Current Trends High Plus

Caster

by Elsie Chapman

Current Trends High Plus

$17.85

Rated

by Melissa Grey

Current Trends High Plus

$17.85

Soul of Stars

by Ashley Poston

Current Trends High Plus

$17.85

These Witches Don't Burn

by Isabel Sterling

Current Trends High Plus

$17.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.