Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Dory and the Real True Friend


Series
Dory Fantasmagory

written and illustrated by
Abby Hanlon

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin
Imprint
Dial
ISBN
9780525428664

Awards and Honors
2015 Cybils Awards Nomination, Early Chapter Books
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$6.00   $5.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Dory’s brother and sister’s advice to Dory about school? “Just try not to imagine things!” But when she describes her new friend as “extremely poufy,” they don’t think she listened. Black-and-white illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

160

Trim Size

5 1/2" x 7 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

3.2: points 1

Lexile

610L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

4

JLG Release

Aug 2015

Book Genres


Topics

Imagination. Imaginary playmates. Schools. Friendship. Brothers and sisters. Family life.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Booklist, The Horn Book Guide, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

[STARRED REVIEW]
Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it’s time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her age who has an amazing imagination just like Dory seems like a good option. But Rosabelle doesn’t seem to want to spend any time with her. Can Dory win her over? What will happen when Mrs. Gobble Gracker gets in the way? The story is well written, humorous, and engaging. The illustrations are amazingly detailed and complement the text well. The characters are fairly well developed and will grab young readers. Fans of Annie Barrows’s “Ivy and Bean” (Chronicle), Barbara Park’s “Junie B. Jones” (Random), and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the “Dory” series. VERDICT A great addition to any library collection.—Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

[STARRED REVIEW]
Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it’s time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her age who has an amazing imagination just like Dory seems like a good option. But Rosabelle doesn’t seem to want to spend any time with her. Can Dory win her over? What will happen when Mrs. Gobble Gracker gets in the way? The story is well written, humorous, and engaging. The illustrations are amazingly detailed and complement the text well. The characters are fairly well developed and will grab young readers. Fans of Annie Barrows’s “Ivy and Bean” (Chronicle), Barbara Park’s “Junie B. Jones” (Random), and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the “Dory” series. VERDICT A great addition to any library collection.—Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT

Grades 2-4
Independent Readers
For Grades 2-4

Children who can read on their own will love this category. The 12 books per year you get in this category range from picture books to early chapter books. Many of these compelling fiction and nonfiction titles feature large print and eye-catching artwork.

12 books per Year
$183.00 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-4
Independent Readers
12 books per Year
$183.00 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Independent Readers

Independent Readers

November 2021

You're a Star, Lolo

by Niki Daly

Independent Readers

October 2021

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

by Erin Entrada Kelly

Independent Readers

September 2021

Independent Readers

August 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.