Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Spin the Dawn


Series
The Blood of Stars

by
Elizabeth Lim

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Knopf
ISBN
9780525647003

Awards and Honors
NPR’s Book Concierge - 2019
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Mild Language, Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes, Violence: Mild Violence
$7.20   $6.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Map.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Mild Language, Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes, Violence: Mild Violence

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

400

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5: points 15

Lexile

HL690L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

24

JLG Release

Oct 2019

Book Genres


Topics

Fantasy. Magic. Tailors. Sewing. Shapeshifters. Romance. Royalty.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist

School Library Journal

When a royal messenger comes calling, Maia Tamarin uproots her life as a seamstress to take her father’s place at the Summer Palace. Posing as her brother, Maia competes for the title of imperial tailor, amid schemes, lies, and one very persistent court enchanter, Edan. Her final test as a tailor launches her on a journey across the kingdom to create three legendary dresses out of the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. However, completing this task means testing the limits of body, mind, and soul—something Maia may not be ready for. This immersive Chinese-inspired fantasy is a great debut novel. Maia’s country of A’landi is rich with detail, from its Five Winters War to its expansive Great Spice Road. The quick-moving plot at the beginning of the novel gives way to a more intricate and refined story line later on. Though the delightful romance between Maia and Edan comes across initially as forced, it’s given room to develop as they ­traverse the kingdom for Maia’s final tailor task. Maia is a powerful figure, though, as with many, it’s through trust in herself that she discovers just how influential she can become. An addictive magical adventure that’s a strong purchase for library shelves.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

When a royal messenger comes calling, Maia Tamarin uproots her life as a seamstress to take her father’s place at the Summer Palace. Posing as her brother, Maia competes for the title of imperial tailor, amid schemes, lies, and one very persistent court enchanter, Edan. Her final test as a tailor launches her on a journey across the kingdom to create three legendary dresses out of the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. However, completing this task means testing the limits of body, mind, and soul—something Maia may not be ready for. This immersive Chinese-inspired fantasy is a great debut novel. Maia’s country of A’landi is rich with detail, from its Five Winters War to its expansive Great Spice Road. The quick-moving plot at the beginning of the novel gives way to a more intricate and refined story line later on. Though the delightful romance between Maia and Edan comes across initially as forced, it’s given room to develop as they ­traverse the kingdom for Maia’s final tailor task. Maia is a powerful figure, though, as with many, it’s through trust in herself that she discovers just how influential she can become. An addictive magical adventure that’s a strong purchase for library shelves.

Grades 9-12
Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus
For Grades 9-12

Tales of unique and mysterious powers, strange new worlds, alternate realities, and dark fantasies await your high-school readers. They'll discover a new world monthly with the 14 books in this category.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9-12
Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

The Luminaries

by Susan Dennard

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

January 2023

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

December 2022

Foul Lady Fortune

by Chloe Gong

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

November 2022

The Dragon's Promise

by Elizabeth Lim

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.