Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke



by
Andrew Maraniss

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Philomel
ISBN
9780593116722
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Language: Strong Language , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse , Language: Homophobic Slur , Violence: General , Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Medical: Graphic Descriptions , Crime: Hate Crimes , Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape Reference/Discussion , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Sports High

From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a “hidden figure” in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.

On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with the first ever high five.

But Glenn also made history in another way—he was the first openly gay MLB player. While he did not come out publicly until after his playing days were over, Glenn’s sexuality was known to his teammates, family, and friends. His MLB career would be cut short after only three years, but his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQ+ community would resonate for years to come.

In Singled Out, New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss tells the story of a little-known but monumentally important sports pioneer, Glenn Burke: from his childhood growing up in Oakland, his journey to the World Series, and his joy in living free at a time of gay liberation, to more difficult times: facing injury, addiction, and the AIDS epidemic.

Packed with black-and-white photographs and never-before-seen details about Glenn’s life, Singled Out is the fascinating and thoroughly researched story of a trailblazer in sports—and the history and culture that shaped the world around him.Notes. Bibliography. Baseball statistics and charts. “US Gay Rights Timeline.” “A Selection of Significant Black American LGBTQ Figures for Further Study.” Index. Black-and-white photographs.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Language: Strong Language , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse , Language: Homophobic Slur , Violence: General , Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Medical: Graphic Descriptions , Crime: Hate Crimes , Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape Reference/Discussion , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

240

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

B

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2021

Book Genres

Autobiography/Biography, Sports

Topics

Glenn Burke (1952–1995). US baseball players. Biography. African American baseball players. Gay athletes. Sports and recreation. LGBTQ. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–A pioneering athlete’s life is examined through the intersection of gay rights, race, and Major League Baseball. Glenn Burke rose to acclaim in the 1970s as part of the L.A. Dodgers. Charismatic, popular, and phenomenally talented, Burke, who was Black and gay but not out, worked his way through the team’s farm system. He longed to reconcile his image with his true self, and in 1982 Burke, who is credited with inventing the cultural phenomenon of the high five, came out in a magazine article and a Today show interview. Burke struggled with drug addiction and eventually fell on devastatingly hard times, at times incarcerated, unhoused, and unemployed. He died of complications from AIDS in 1995. By looking at the social and political climates and incorporating the history of gay rights and activism, Maraniss shows what the world was like for gay people in the 1970s and 1980s, with no openly gay athletes, a homophobic sports world, and the AIDS crisis taking hold. Short sections, photographs, and quotes from Maraniss’s many interviews keep the deeply immersive story moving. Extensive back matter proves to be as essential reading as the main text. Detailed source notes provide more information on people quoted, events of the time, issues in MLB, and explanations of references. A ­bibliography, baseball statistics, a gay rights time line, selection of Black American LGBTQ people to know and study, and an index round out the work. VERDICT This remarkable tribute to a trailblazer is narrative nonfiction at its finest.–Amanda MacGregor, Parkview Elem. Sch., Rosemount, MN

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–A pioneering athlete’s life is examined through the intersection of gay rights, race, and Major League Baseball. Glenn Burke rose to acclaim in the 1970s as part of the L.A. Dodgers. Charismatic, popular, and phenomenally talented, Burke, who was Black and gay but not out, worked his way through the team’s farm system. He longed to reconcile his image with his true self, and in 1982 Burke, who is credited with inventing the cultural phenomenon of the high five, came out in a magazine article and a Today show interview. Burke struggled with drug addiction and eventually fell on devastatingly hard times, at times incarcerated, unhoused, and unemployed. He died of complications from AIDS in 1995. By looking at the social and political climates and incorporating the history of gay rights and activism, Maraniss shows what the world was like for gay people in the 1970s and 1980s, with no openly gay athletes, a homophobic sports world, and the AIDS crisis taking hold. Short sections, photographs, and quotes from Maraniss’s many interviews keep the deeply immersive story moving. Extensive back matter proves to be as essential reading as the main text. Detailed source notes provide more information on people quoted, events of the time, issues in MLB, and explanations of references. A ­bibliography, baseball statistics, a gay rights time line, selection of Black American LGBTQ people to know and study, and an index round out the work. VERDICT This remarkable tribute to a trailblazer is narrative nonfiction at its finest.–Amanda MacGregor, Parkview Elem. Sch., Rosemount, MN

Grades 9 & Up
Sports High
For Grades 9 & Up

High school sports enthusiasts will love this category, which includes fiction and nonfiction titles that cover the action and excitement of a wide array of sports, the stories and struggles of athletes who have attained great success, and inside looks at the games teens love to watch and play. Action, excitement and struggles will be found in each of the 12 books provided.

12 books per Year
$214.20 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Nonfiction,Biographies,Novels,Realistic Fiction,History
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Sports High
12 books per Year
$214.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Sports High

The Passing Playbook

by Isaac Fitzsimons

Sports High

August 2021

Bruised

by Tanya Boteju

Sports High

July 2021

One Life

by Megan Rapinoe

Sports High

June 2021

Sports High

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.