Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Elephant's Girl



by
Celesta Rimington

Edition
Library edition with trade jacket added
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Crown
ISBN
9780593121238
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$15.00   $12.50
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

PG Middle Plus

An elephant never forgets, but Lexington Willow can't remember what happened before a tornado swept her away when she was a toddler. All she knows is that it landed her near an enclosure in a Nebraska zoo; and there an elephant named Nyah protected her from the storm. With no trace of her birth family, Lex grew up at the zoo with Nyah and her elephant family; her foster father, Roger; her best friend, Fisher; and the wind whispering in her ear.

Now that she's twelve, Lex is finally old enough to help with the elephants. But during their first training session, Nyah sends her a telepathic image of the woods outside the zoo. Despite the wind's protests, Lex decides to investigate Nyah's message and gets wrapped up in an adventure involving ghosts, lost treasure, and a puzzle that might be the key to finding her family. As she hunts for answers, Lex must summon the courage to leave the secure borders of her zoo to discover who she really is—and why the tornado brought her here all those years ago.

Author’s note, with suggestions for further information.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

5 1/2" x 8 1/5"

Dewey

F

AR

5.2: points 11

Lexile

800L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2020

Book Genres

Magical Realism

Topics

Elephants. Zoos. Foundlings. Friendship. Family life. Ghosts. Winds. Adoption. Nebraska.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Seven years ago the biggest tornado in Nebraska history hit near the Lexington Zoo. A little girl, just five years old, was found near an animal enclosure, protected from the storm by an elephant named Nyah. With no trace of a family, the girl was named Lexington Willow and grew up at the zoo with her best friend Fisher, and the man who found Lex and became her foster father, Roger. Now that she is finally old enough, Lex can’t wait to help with the elephant training. On her first day, Nyah the elephant sends her a telepathic message that sets Lex off on an adventure to get some answers about her past. To find those answers Lex must leave the safety of the zoo, meet a ghost, and begin searching for a hidden treasure. Through this adventure Lex will find the meaning of family, friendship, and courage. Rimington also provides an accompanying list of books and websites in the author’s note to help readers understand more about elephant research, organizations that help, and how readers can get involved. This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Seven years ago the biggest tornado in Nebraska history hit near the Lexington Zoo. A little girl, just five years old, was found near an animal enclosure, protected from the storm by an elephant named Nyah. With no trace of a family, the girl was named Lexington Willow and grew up at the zoo with her best friend Fisher, and the man who found Lex and became her foster father, Roger. Now that she is finally old enough, Lex can’t wait to help with the elephant training. On her first day, Nyah the elephant sends her a telepathic message that sets Lex off on an adventure to get some answers about her past. To find those answers Lex must leave the safety of the zoo, meet a ghost, and begin searching for a hidden treasure. Through this adventure Lex will find the meaning of family, friendship, and courage. Rimington also provides an accompanying list of books and websites in the author’s note to help readers understand more about elephant research, organizations that help, and how readers can get involved. This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo.

Grades 5-8
PG Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

For middle school readers who enjoy fascinating stories but want less edgy content, PGM is the perfect choice. Be assured that the 14 books offered in this category will be inoffensive to readers, teachers and parents.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Diversity,Fiction,Funny/Humorous,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
PG Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From PG Middle Plus

The Mending Summer

by Ali Standish

PG Middle Plus

September 2021

Taking Up Space

by Alyson Gerber

PG Middle Plus

September 2021

PG Middle Plus

August 2021

War and Millie McGonigle

by Karen Cushman

PG Middle Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.