Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Blippo and Beep



by
Sarah Weeks
illustrated by
Joey Ellis

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Penguin Workshop
ISBN
9780593226971
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$17.82   $14.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Knock-knock. Who’s there? Blippo and Beep!

Blippo and Beep are a pair of silly robot friends. While Blippo is good-natured and eager, Beep is a bit more serious and practical. But when they start to share knock-knock jokes with each other, Blippo doesn’t really understand how they work, and Beep begins to run out of patience!

Four-color illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

48

Trim Size

9" x 6 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

AD206L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2022

Book Genres

Beginning Reader, Easy Reader

Topics

Robots. Friendship. Jokes. Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1-This first book in a new series introduces Blippo and Beep, a dynamic duo of friendly robots. Beep tries to tell knock-knock jokes to Blippo, who is unfamiliar with the format. Blippo answers, "Come in!" to Beep's first attempt at a joke. When Beep is finally successful in delivering the joke, Blippo doesn't fully understand the humor. But he goes on to learn how to tell his own kind of joke to make his friend laugh. The story is told using short speech bubbles for the dialogue between Blippo and Beep. Ellis adds clever details in the bright illustrations, such as a question mark on Blippo's stomach when he is confused, a smiley face when he is happy, and an exclamation point when he is excited. The entire book is illustrated using only five colors: white, black, blue, purple, and yellow. Weeks has created two likable robots, one more serious than the other, but both eager to make the other happy. VERDICT Fans of Mo Willems's "Elephant & Piggie" series will enjoy this book that follows a similar pattern with different characters.-Heidi Dechief

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1-This first book in a new series introduces Blippo and Beep, a dynamic duo of friendly robots. Beep tries to tell knock-knock jokes to Blippo, who is unfamiliar with the format. Blippo answers, "Come in!" to Beep's first attempt at a joke. When Beep is finally successful in delivering the joke, Blippo doesn't fully understand the humor. But he goes on to learn how to tell his own kind of joke to make his friend laugh. The story is told using short speech bubbles for the dialogue between Blippo and Beep. Ellis adds clever details in the bright illustrations, such as a question mark on Blippo's stomach when he is confused, a smiley face when he is happy, and an exclamation point when he is excited. The entire book is illustrated using only five colors: white, black, blue, purple, and yellow. Weeks has created two likable robots, one more serious than the other, but both eager to make the other happy. VERDICT Fans of Mo Willems's "Elephant & Piggie" series will enjoy this book that follows a similar pattern with different characters.-Heidi Dechief

Grades K-1
Emergent Readers Plus
For Grades K-1

Engaging short texts and large type for children who are beginning to read. Books feature familiar vocabulary and natural repetition as well as playful hooks to pull in readers. With artwork and layout designed to enhance comprehension, these books foster pleasurable and successful early reading experience.

14 books per Year
$228.76 per Year
Interests
Beginning Readers,ESL,Fiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades K-1
Emergent Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$228.76 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Emergent Readers Plus

Owl and Penguin

by Vikram Madan

Emergent Readers Plus

January 2023

Am I a Frog?

by Lizzy Rockwell

Emergent Readers Plus

December 2022

Emergent Readers Plus

November 2022

See Me Go

by Paul Meisel

Emergent Readers Plus

October 2022
Out of stock
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.