Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Both Sides Now



by
Peyton Thomas

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Dial
ISBN
9780593322819
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Gender Identity , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use
$21.90   $18.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue.

There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold would not only be the pinnacle of Finch’s debating career, but the perfect way to launch himself into his next chapter: college in Washington, DC, and a history-making career as the first trans congressman. What could possibly go wrong?

Well, for starters, Finch could develop a teeny tiny crush on his very attractive, very taken, and very gay debate partner, Jonah. Never mind that Finch has never considered whether he’s interested in more than just girls.

And that dream of college in DC? Finch hasn’t exactly been accepted anywhere yet, let alone received the full-ride scholarship he’ll need to make this dream a reality.

Worst of all, though, is this year’s topic for Nationals: transgender rights. If he wants to cinch the gold, and get into college, Finch might have to argue against his own humanity.

People say there are two sides to every argument. But, as Finch is about to discover, some things—like who you are and who you love—are not up for debate.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Gender Identity , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

HL620L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Dec 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Transgender people. Debates and debating. Love. High schools. LGBTQ. Crushes. Romance. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-For high school senior Finch Kelly, winning a national debate tournament is his ticket to the east coast, a scholarship to Georgetown, and all his DC political dreams. But when the topic, whether transgender students should be able to use the bathrooms of their choice, is announced, Finch will have to decide if he can debate against his own rights, when most of his schoolmates don't even know that he's transgender. Thomas creates a sharp, witty narrative, building a clear chemistry between Finch and his debate partner, Jonah, whose loving Filipino family contrasts with Finch's tense home life. This novel captures the ups and downs of high school relationships, navigating race and privilege, and the effects of parental unemployment and alcoholism, with just the right balance of teenage sarcasm and angst. Finch and his family are white, and a diverse group of secondary characters includes Jewish, Persian, and Black representation. VERDICT A solid entry in contemporary LGBTQIA+ young adult literature, full of cerebral teens with big plans and snark to spare.-Molly Saunders, Manatee County P.L., Bradenton, FL

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-For high school senior Finch Kelly, winning a national debate tournament is his ticket to the east coast, a scholarship to Georgetown, and all his DC political dreams. But when the topic, whether transgender students should be able to use the bathrooms of their choice, is announced, Finch will have to decide if he can debate against his own rights, when most of his schoolmates don't even know that he's transgender. Thomas creates a sharp, witty narrative, building a clear chemistry between Finch and his debate partner, Jonah, whose loving Filipino family contrasts with Finch's tense home life. This novel captures the ups and downs of high school relationships, navigating race and privilege, and the effects of parental unemployment and alcoholism, with just the right balance of teenage sarcasm and angst. Finch and his family are white, and a diverse group of secondary characters includes Jewish, Persian, and Black representation. VERDICT A solid entry in contemporary LGBTQIA+ young adult literature, full of cerebral teens with big plans and snark to spare.-Molly Saunders, Manatee County P.L., Bradenton, FL

Grades 11 & Up
Mature Young Adults Plus
For Grades 11 & Up

Filled with stimulating nonfiction and can't-put-it-down fiction, this catetory is perfect for bridging the gap between young adult and adult reading. Take note: these 12 selections often contain mature situations and language that could be considered controversial.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 11 & Up
Mature Young Adults Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mature Young Adults Plus

What's Coming to Me

by Francesca Padilla

Mature Young Adults Plus

November 2022

How You Grow Wings

by Rimma Onoseta

Mature Young Adults Plus

October 2022

Mature Young Adults Plus

October 2022

Man O' War

by Cory McCarthy

Mature Young Adults Plus

September 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.