Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Shelter



by
Christie Matheson

Edition
Library edition with trade jacket added
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Random House
ISBN
9780593376393
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of One for the Murphys and Paper Things, this heart-wrenching middle grade debut considers homelessness from one girl’s perspective and explores deep truths about the resounding impact of empathy.

Fifth grade can be tough for anyone. There are cliques and mean kids and homework and surprise math tests. But after tragedy strikes her family, almost-eleven-year-old Maya has a painful secret that makes many days feel nearly impossible.

And today might be Maya’s toughest yet. Her family is on edge, she needs to travel alone across the city, a bully is out to get her, and Maya has to face this winter’s biggest rainstorm without a coat or an umbrella.

But even on the rainiest days, there’s hope that the sun will come out soon.

Emotional and compassionate, Shelter looks at homelessness through one girl’s eyes and explores the power of empathy, friendship, and love.

“A Note About Children and Homelessness.”

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

192

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.7: points 5

Lexile

750L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Homeless persons. Shelters for the homeless. Schools. Family life. Fifth grade. Friendship. Bullying. Family life. Sisters. Single mothers. Bike accidents. San Francisco, California. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
For Grades 3-5

A wide variety of novels and accessible nonfiction for younger elementary readers who love a good story comprise this category of 12 books per year. The focus in these titles is primarily on the text, though some novels may feature illustration.

12 books per Year
$236.64 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Transitional Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers
12 books per Year
$236.64 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Intermediate Readers

My Life Begins!

by Patricia MacLachlan

Intermediate Readers

November 2022

Manatee Summer

by Evan Griffith

Intermediate Readers

October 2022

Not Starring Zadie Louise

by Joy McCullough

Intermediate Readers

September 2022

Intermediate Readers

August 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.