Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Girls Don't Fly

By: Kristen Chandler

Myra longs to fly the coop after graduation. But how can she with four younger brothers, overworked parents, and a pregnant older sister?

ISBN: 9780670013319

JLG Release: Feb 2012


Sensitive Areas: Language: Mild Language, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use, Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape, Sexual Content: Contact Between Adult and Minor
Topics: Family life , Scholarships , Contests , Dating , Pregnancy , Galapagos Islands , Utah

$12.00   $5.00 Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Young Adults

Grades 9 & Up

12 titles/year

$201.60/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, The Horn Book Magazine, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

When she is unexpectedly dumped by Prince Charming, high school senior Myra takes chances she wouldn’t have taken before. Intrigued by a scholarship contest to study plant and bird life in the Galápagos Islands, she has only a few months to write a research proposal and raise $1,000 to pay part of the cost of the trip. Could she really d When she is unexpectedly dumped by Prince Charming, high school senior Myra takes chances she wouldn’t have taken before. Intrigued by a scholarship contest to study plant and bird life in the Galápagos Islands, she has only a few months to write a research proposal and raise $1,000 to pay part of the cost of the trip. Could she really dance around outside the local fried chicken joint in a feathery costume? Then, Myra’s college freshman sister shows up pregnant and becomes bedridden, one more responsibility to add to a list that includes her younger brothers and overworked parents. To make matters worse, she’s competing against her ex for the trip to the Galápagos, but she begins to appreciate the mystery of local birds and to see who she is apart from her family and without Prince Charming. The protagonist is a delightfully spunky teen whose witticisms will keep readers laughing, and her deeply felt connection to her family and cool head in the midst of life-and-death crises will leave them with watery eyes. Fans of Sarah Dessen will want to grab this one.—Richelle Roth, Boone County Public Library, KY

Horn Book

Girls don’t fly, and neither do flightless cormorants, the species seventeen-year-old Myra intends to study if she wins a research scholarship to the Galápagos Islands. The novel’s title actually refers to Myra’s tendency not to put herself on the launch pad—to value everyone’s needs over her own. Myra is a likabl Girls don’t fly, and neither do flightless cormorants, the species seventeen-year-old Myra intends to study if she wins a research scholarship to the Galápagos Islands. The novel’s title actually refers to Myra’s tendency not to put herself on the launch pad—to value everyone’s needs over her own. Myra is a likable, level-headed narrator from a sympathetically drawn working-class Utah family. Her parents aren’t cruel; they’re just overwhelmed, with six kids including Myra’s pregnant older sister, who’s dropped out of college and moved home to sulk. They are used to their reliable second-born picking up the slack. Not normally an academic go-getter, Myra falls for the Galápagos when Pete, a grad student, turns up in her science class to tell them about the opportunity and shows a promotional film. She says, “I’m probably just feeling insane, but before I know what is happening to me I’m bonding with every lizard and lava rock. My brain is swallowing seawater.” Chandler goes overboard in demonstrating Myra’s capabilities (having her save two fishermen from drowning and deliver her sister’s baby in the hospital parking lot is a tad much), but the depiction of small-town dynamics, high-school breakups, crappy after-school jobs, and Myra’s growing desire to break free from limited expectations is both fresh and relatable.

Junior Library Guild

  • Offers a wry, compassionate perspective on the travails of teenage life. Readers will root for Myra as she overcomes numerous obstacles—an overly demanding family, a manipulative ex-boyfriend, a germ-ridden chicken suit—to compete for a scholarship trip to the Galapagos Islands.
  • While Myra finds love in the end, the
    • Offers a wry, compassionate perspective on the travails of teenage life. Readers will root for Myra as she overcomes numerous obstacles—an overly demanding family, a manipulative ex-boyfriend, a germ-ridden chicken suit—to compete for a scholarship trip to the Galapagos Islands.
    • While Myra finds love in the end, the novel’s real love affair is between Myra and the islands. Studying the animals that live there, she discovers her own intellectual curiosity and begins to see the world in terms of possibility.
    • Kristen Chandler populates Myra’s world with vivid minor characters—from Myra’s superstar older sister, who’s returned home from college pregnant, to Myra’s ex, a toad disguised as Prince Charming.
    • Will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Sara Zarr, and other authors who track the inner lives of strong female heroines.

Book Details

ISBN

9780670013319

First Release

February 2012

Genre

Dewey Classification

Fiction

Trim Size

5 1/2" x 8 1/4"

Page Count

288

Accelerated Reader

Level 3.8; Points: 9;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 4.3; Points: 17;

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

-

Publisher

Viking

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Language: Mild Language, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use, Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape, Sexual Content: Contact Between Adult and Minor

Topics

Family life, Scholarships, Contests, Dating, Pregnancy, Galapagos Islands, Utah,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Young Adults

Running

by Natalia Sylvester

Young Adults

$16.80

You Don’t Live Here

by Robyn Schneider

Young Adults

$16.80

The Ballad of Ami Miles

by Kristy Dallas Alley

Young Adults

$16.80

When You Were Everything

by Ashley Woodfolk

Young Adults

$16.80
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.