Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Mirror Girls



by
Kelly McWilliams

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Hachette Book Group
Imprint
Little, Brown BFYR
ISBN
9780759553873
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Language: Racial or Ethnic Epithet/Slur , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: General , Language: Moderate Language , Language: Infrequent Use , Crime: Hate Crimes , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion , Social Issue: Slavery in Historical Context
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

JLG Category

PG High Plus

A thrilling gothic horror novel about biracial twin sisters separated at birth, perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country and The Vanishing Half.

As infants, twin sisters Charlie Yates and Magnolia Heathwood were secretly separated after the brutal lynching of their parents, who died for loving across the color line. Now, at the dawn of the Civil Rights Movement, Charlie is a young Black organizer in Harlem, while white-passing Magnolia is the heiress to a cotton plantation in rural Georgia.

Magnolia knows nothing of her racial heritage, but secrets are hard to keep in a town haunted by the ghosts of its slave-holding past. When Magnolia finally learns the truth, her reflection mysteriously disappears from mirrors—the sign of a terrible curse. Meanwhile, in Harlem, Charlie's beloved grandmother falls ill. Her final wish is to be buried back home in Georgia—and, unbeknownst to Charlie, to see her long-lost granddaughter, Magnolia Heathwood, one last time. So Charlie travels into the Deep South, confronting the land of her worst nightmares—and Jim Crow segregation.

The sisters reunite as teenagers in the deeply haunted town of Eureka, Georgia, where ghosts linger centuries after their time and dangers lurk behind every mirror. They couldn’t be more different, but they will need each other to put the hauntings of the past to rest, to break the mirrors’ deadly curse—and to discover the meaning of sisterhood in a racially divided land.

Family tree.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Language: Racial or Ethnic Epithet/Slur , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: General , Language: Moderate Language , Language: Infrequent Use , Crime: Hate Crimes , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion , Social Issue: Slavery in Historical Context

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.2: points 9

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2022

Book Genres

Ghost Story

Topics

Racially mixed people. Twins. Sisters. Race relations. Ghosts. African Americans. Twentieth-century  history of Georgia. Paranormal, occult, and supernatural. Prejudice. Racism. Jim Crow South. Multigenerational families. 

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
PG High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

For high school readers who enjoy fascinating stories but want less edgy content, PGH is the perfect choice. Be assured that the 12 books offered in this category will be inoffensive to readers, teachers and parents.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
"Clean" Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
PG High Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From PG High Plus

PG High Plus

July 2022

Flirting with Fate

by J. C. Cervantes

PG High Plus

June 2022

Debating Darcy

by Sayantani DasGupta

PG High Plus

May 2022

Mirror Girls

by Kelly McWilliams

PG High Plus

April 2022
Out of stock
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.