Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Witch, The Sword, and the Cursed Knights



by
Alexandria Rogers
illustrated by
Manuel Sumberac

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Hachette Book Group
Imprint
Little, Brown BFYR
ISBN
9780759554580
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil and A Tale of Magic…, this Barnes & Noble Children’s Book Award finalist and Amazon Best Book of the Month is a charming fantasy debut that puts a new spin on the legend of Camelot.

Twelve-year-old Ellie can’t help that she’s a witch, the most hated member of society. Determined to prove her worth and eschew her heritage, Ellie applies to the Fairy Godmother Academy—her golden ticket to societal acceptance. But Ellie’s dreams are squashed when she receives the dreaded draft letter to serve as a knight of King Arthur’s legendary Round Table. She can get out of the draft—but only if she saves a lost cause.

Enter Caedmon, a boy from Wisconsin struggling with the death of his best friend. He first dismisses the draft as ridiculous; magic can’t possibly exist. But when Merlin’s ancient magic foretells his family’s death if he doesn’t follow through, he travels to the knights’ castle, where he learns of a wicked curse leeching the knights of their power.

To break the curse, Ellie and Caedmon must pass a series of deathly trials and reforge the lost, shattered sword of Excalibur. And unless Ellie accepts her witch magic and Caedmon rises to become the knight he’s meant to be, they will both fail—and the world will fall to the same darkness that brought King Arthur and Camelot to ruin.

“The Twenty-Five and a Half Realms.”

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

432

Trim Size

8" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5: points 13

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jul 2022

Book Genres

Fantasy, Magic

Topics

Blessing and cursing. Knights and knighthood. Magic. Swords. Witchcraft. Witches. Occult. Arthurian legends. Friendship.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-8-Ellie and Caedmon do not expect to be Knights of the Round Table, let alone friends who are destined to save their separate worlds. Ellie, from the Tragevelia Realm, wants nothing more than to get accepted into the Fairy Godmother Academy; however, she harbors a secret that could cause the end of all her hopes and dreams. Caedmon, living in Wisconsin, cannot come to grips with the death of his best friend. The two have nothing in common, except that they both receive an invitation to be a Knight of the Round Table. Their ensuing adventure proves that they need each other in order to survive the formidable tests they encounter. Meeting new friends from across the realms, they push themselves to their limits as they struggle to free their worlds of a witches' curse meant to doom all of humanity. Told by Madame Mystérieuse using the alternate perspectives of Ellie and Caedmon, along with humorous and often sarcastic comments in footnotes, this title is sure to engage readers with its heterogeneous cast of characters and humor. Rogers's creativity in constructing the multiple-realm setting is outstanding, including minute details that keep its audience riveted. Readers will sympathize with Ellie in her futile attempts to please her mother, and Caedmon's heartache in losing a loved one. Information at the beginning of the title will help readers define each realm of the world. Fans of Harry Potter's magical world and its characters will enjoy this fantasy title. VERDICT A kinetic and novel fairy tale with themes of friendship and perseverance that will engage fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon.-Elena Schuck

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-8-Ellie and Caedmon do not expect to be Knights of the Round Table, let alone friends who are destined to save their separate worlds. Ellie, from the Tragevelia Realm, wants nothing more than to get accepted into the Fairy Godmother Academy; however, she harbors a secret that could cause the end of all her hopes and dreams. Caedmon, living in Wisconsin, cannot come to grips with the death of his best friend. The two have nothing in common, except that they both receive an invitation to be a Knight of the Round Table. Their ensuing adventure proves that they need each other in order to survive the formidable tests they encounter. Meeting new friends from across the realms, they push themselves to their limits as they struggle to free their worlds of a witches' curse meant to doom all of humanity. Told by Madame Mystérieuse using the alternate perspectives of Ellie and Caedmon, along with humorous and often sarcastic comments in footnotes, this title is sure to engage readers with its heterogeneous cast of characters and humor. Rogers's creativity in constructing the multiple-realm setting is outstanding, including minute details that keep its audience riveted. Readers will sympathize with Ellie in her futile attempts to please her mother, and Caedmon's heartache in losing a loved one. Information at the beginning of the title will help readers define each realm of the world. Fans of Harry Potter's magical world and its characters will enjoy this fantasy title. VERDICT A kinetic and novel fairy tale with themes of friendship and perseverance that will engage fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon.-Elena Schuck

Grades 5-8
Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Your middle-school readers will thrill to new futures, fantasy realms, and alternate realities. Readers will look forward to discovering a new world monthly with the 12 books in this category.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

February 2023

Wolfish

by Christiane M. Andrews

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

January 2023

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

December 2022

Windswept

by Margi Preus

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

November 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.