Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Daughter of the White Rose



by
Diane Zahler

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Holiday House
Imprint
Print
ISBN
9780823446070
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War
$16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Can a common girl save a prince trapped in the Tower of London?

April. England. 1483. The king is dead. Long live the king.

Nell Gould is the daughter of the royal butcher, a commoner, but she has been raised as the playmate of King Edward and Queen Elizabeth’s royal children: Princess Cecily, Princess Bess, Prince Dickon, and Prince Ned, heir apparent and Nell’s best and closest friend. They think alike, her and Ned, preferring books and jousts to finery and gossip and the sparkle of the court. But when King Edward dies, Prince Ned is imprisoned in the Tower of London by his scheming uncle, the evil Richard III—and Nell with him. Can they escape? Is Nell the key?

Based on the real royal scandal of the Princes in the Tower, Daughter of the White Rose covers a shocking episode in medieval history that has captured the imagination for 530 years. A story of murder, betrayal, resilience, and growing up, this girl-led medieval middle-grade novel will make a perfect companion to Catherine, Called Birdy and The Mad Wolf’s Daughter.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

256

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.7: points 10

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2021

Book Genres

Fiction

Topics

Princes. Social classes. False imprisonment. King Edward IV (1442–1483). King Richard III (1452–1485). Fifteenth-century British history. Wars of the Roses. Friendship. Siblings. First love. Printing presses.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-6–Twelve-year-old Nell Gould narrates this engrossing medieval tale that reimagines the fate of royal princes Edward “Ned” and Richard “Dickon,” imprisoned in the Tower of London in 1483 by their ruthless uncle Richard III. Nell’s father is a butcher for the royal family, and Nell grows up happily playing with the royal children. Nell’s mother dies after giving birth to Nell’s brother Toby, born the same day as the Queen’s son Richard. Nell’s life changes when nine-year-old Ned goes away to learn his kingly duties and Nell realizes the princesses have outgrown her. Since she’s a commoner and can never marry Ned, Nell wants to become educated. Her father hires a printer to teach her to read and write English, and young Jacob, a printer’s inker, offers to teach her Latin. Edward IV dies and Ned becomes king at age 12. When ambitious Richard imprisons Ned and Dickon in the Tower, Nell must figure out how to save them. The story starts a little slowly but picks up steam and intensity toward the end. Nell is a fiercely determined girl who faces loss and disappointment but is stronger for it. She’s empowered to learn to read and write and even imagines she might become a writer one day. An author’s note provides additional information about the real royal princes. All characters present as white. VERDICT Readers who love historical fiction featuring strong female characters and suspenseful court intrigue will enjoy this story that’s perfect for fans of Karen Cushman, Tamora Pierce, and Diane Magras.–Sharon ­Rawlins, New Jersey State Lib., Trenton

Horn Book

Daughter of a mere butcher, Nell nevertheless becomes best friends with Prince Edward—“Ned,” heir apparent to England’s King Edward IV. When Ned is sent off for his training, Nell is lucky enough to be allowed to help out in the printing shop of William Caxton, England’s first printer, staying in touch with Ned through letters. In 1483, Edward IV dies, and Ned’s uncle, plotting to be crowned King Richard III, imprisons twelve-year-old Ned and his brother Dickon in the Tower of London. Nell and her brother are asked to stay in the Tower, too, to cheer the two young princes. Anglophiles know how this story ends: the princes are murdered. Or are they? Riffing on historical accounts of the “reappearance” of Dickon in later years, Zahler makes a tale of Nell’s rescue of Ned’s brother and her subsequent grieving for Ned. In an accessible, uncluttered style, she delicately balances historical fact with our own contemporary values. It’s especially refreshing that Nell’s literacy (rare, if not outright anachronistic, for a girl of her status) leads her to the works of medieval women writers for consolation and inspiration for her own future. DEIRDRE F. BAKER

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-6–Twelve-year-old Nell Gould narrates this engrossing medieval tale that reimagines the fate of royal princes Edward “Ned” and Richard “Dickon,” imprisoned in the Tower of London in 1483 by their ruthless uncle Richard III. Nell’s father is a butcher for the royal family, and Nell grows up happily playing with the royal children. Nell’s mother dies after giving birth to Nell’s brother Toby, born the same day as the Queen’s son Richard. Nell’s life changes when nine-year-old Ned goes away to learn his kingly duties and Nell realizes the princesses have outgrown her. Since she’s a commoner and can never marry Ned, Nell wants to become educated. Her father hires a printer to teach her to read and write English, and young Jacob, a printer’s inker, offers to teach her Latin. Edward IV dies and Ned becomes king at age 12. When ambitious Richard imprisons Ned and Dickon in the Tower, Nell must figure out how to save them. The story starts a little slowly but picks up steam and intensity toward the end. Nell is a fiercely determined girl who faces loss and disappointment but is stronger for it. She’s empowered to learn to read and write and even imagines she might become a writer one day. An author’s note provides additional information about the real royal princes. All characters present as white. VERDICT Readers who love historical fiction featuring strong female characters and suspenseful court intrigue will enjoy this story that’s perfect for fans of Karen Cushman, Tamora Pierce, and Diane Magras.–Sharon ­Rawlins, New Jersey State Lib., Trenton

Horn Book

Daughter of a mere butcher, Nell nevertheless becomes best friends with Prince Edward—“Ned,” heir apparent to England’s King Edward IV. When Ned is sent off for his training, Nell is lucky enough to be allowed to help out in the printing shop of William Caxton, England’s first printer, staying in touch with Ned through letters. In 1483, Edward IV dies, and Ned’s uncle, plotting to be crowned King Richard III, imprisons twelve-year-old Ned and his brother Dickon in the Tower of London. Nell and her brother are asked to stay in the Tower, too, to cheer the two young princes. Anglophiles know how this story ends: the princes are murdered. Or are they? Riffing on historical accounts of the “reappearance” of Dickon in later years, Zahler makes a tale of Nell’s rescue of Ned’s brother and her subsequent grieving for Ned. In an accessible, uncluttered style, she delicately balances historical fact with our own contemporary values. It’s especially refreshing that Nell’s literacy (rare, if not outright anachronistic, for a girl of her status) leads her to the works of medieval women writers for consolation and inspiration for her own future. DEIRDRE F. BAKER

Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 12 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

All You Knead Is Love

by Tanya Guerrero

Advanced Readers Plus

June 2021

Summer of Brave

by Amy Noelle Parks

Advanced Readers Plus

May 2021

Treasure of the World

by Tara Sullivan

Advanced Readers Plus

April 2021

Advanced Readers Plus

March 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.