Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Daughter of the White Rose

By: Diane Zahler

Can a common girl save a prince trapped in the Tower of London?

April. England. 1483. The king is dead. Long live the king.

Nell Gould is the daughter of the royal butcher, a commoner, but she has been raised as the playmate of King Edward and Queen Elizabeth’s royal children: Princess Cecily, Princess Bess, Prince Dickon, and Prince Ned, heir apparent and Nell’s best and closest friend. They think alike, her and Ned, preferring books and jousts to finery and gossip and the sparkle of the court. But when King Edward dies, Prince Ned is imprisoned in the Tower of London by his scheming uncle, the evil Richard III—and Nell with him. Can they escape? Is Nell the key?

Based on the real royal scandal of the Princes in the Tower, Daughter of the White Rose covers a shocking episode in medieval history that has captured the imagination for 530 years. A story of murder, betrayal, resilience, and growing up, this girl-led medieval middle-grade novel will make a perfect companion to Catherine, Called Birdy and The Mad Wolf’s Daughter.

Historical note. Time line.

ISBN: 9780823446070

JLG Release: Mar 2021


Sensitive Areas: Violence: Mild Violence , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War
Topics: Princes , Social classes , False imprisonment , King Edward IV (1442–1483) , King Richard III (1452–1485) , Fifteenth-century British history , Wars of the Roses , Friendship , Siblings , First love , Printing presses

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Advanced Readers Plus

Grades 6-9

14 titles/year

$235.90/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal

Gr 4-6–Twelve-year-old Nell Gould narrates this engrossing medieval tale that reimagines the fate of royal princes Edward “Ned” and Richard “Dickon,” imprisoned in the Tower of London in 1483 by their ruthless uncle Richard III. Nell’s father is a butcher for the royal family, and Nell grows up happily playing with the royal children. N Gr 4-6–Twelve-year-old Nell Gould narrates this engrossing medieval tale that reimagines the fate of royal princes Edward “Ned” and Richard “Dickon,” imprisoned in the Tower of London in 1483 by their ruthless uncle Richard III. Nell’s father is a butcher for the royal family, and Nell grows up happily playing with the royal children. Nell’s mother dies after giving birth to Nell’s brother Toby, born the same day as the Queen’s son Richard. Nell’s life changes when nine-year-old Ned goes away to learn his kingly duties and Nell realizes the princesses have outgrown her. Since she’s a commoner and can never marry Ned, Nell wants to become educated. Her father hires a printer to teach her to read and write English, and young Jacob, a printer’s inker, offers to teach her Latin. Edward IV dies and Ned becomes king at age 12. When ambitious Richard imprisons Ned and Dickon in the Tower, Nell must figure out how to save them. The story starts a little slowly but picks up steam and intensity toward the end. Nell is a fiercely determined girl who faces loss and disappointment but is stronger for it. She’s empowered to learn to read and write and even imagines she might become a writer one day. An author’s note provides additional information about the real royal princes. All characters present as white. VERDICT Readers who love historical fiction featuring strong female characters and suspenseful court intrigue will enjoy this story that’s perfect for fans of Karen Cushman, Tamora Pierce, and Diane Magras.–Sharon ­Rawlins, New Jersey State Lib., Trenton

Book Details

ISBN

9780823446070

First Release

March 2021

Genre

Fiction

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

256

Accelerated Reader

Level 5.7; Points: 10;

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Holiday House

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Violence: Mild Violence , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War

Topics

Princes, Social classes, False imprisonment, King Edward IV (1442–1483), King Richard III (1452–1485), Fifteenth-century British history, Wars of the Roses, Friendship, Siblings, First love, Printing presses,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Historical Fiction

Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

Advanced Readers Plus

$16.85

Advanced Readers Plus

$16.80

Advanced Readers Plus

$16.85

Advanced Readers Plus

$16.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.