Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Attacked at Sea: A True World War II Story of a Family's Fight for Survival


Series
True Rescue Series

by
Michael J. Tougias ,Alison O'Leary

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Henry Holt and Company, Inc.
ISBN
9781250128065
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

A riveting WWII account of survival at sea—Book 4 in the True Rescue series from Michael J. Tougias, the author of the New York Times bestseller The Finest Hours. On May 19, 1942, during WWII, a U-boat in the Gulf of Mexico stalked its prey fifty miles from New Orleans. The submarine set its sights on the freighter Heredia. Most onboard were merchant seamen, but there were also civilians, including the Downs family: Ray and Ina and their two children. Fast asleep in their berths, the Downs family had no idea that two torpedoes were heading their way. When the ship exploded, chaos ensued—and each family member had to find their own path to survival.

This inspiring historical narrative tells the story of the Downs family as they struggle against sharks, hypothermia, drowning, and dehydration in their effort to survive the aftermath of this deadly attack off the American coast. For fans of Refugee and Unbroken.Map. Epilogue. Authors’ note. Bibliography. Black-and-white photo insert. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

224

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

940.54

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2021

Book Genres

Narrative Nonfiction

Topics

Downs family. Raymond Downs Sr. Heredia (ship). U-506 (submarine). World War II (1939–1945). German naval operations. Torpedo attacks. Shipwreck survival. Gulf of Mexico. Survival at sea. Families. American history.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 5-8
High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Nonfiction topics and approaches that will attract reluctant and avid readers alike.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Biographies,History,Nonfiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Science/STEAM
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

October 2021

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

October 2021
Out of stock

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

September 2021

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.