Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

In Harm's Way: Young Readers Edition



by
Doug Stanton ,Michael J. Tougias

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Henry Holt and Company, Inc.
ISBN
9781250771322
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Mild Language , Language: Grotesque/Disturbing Imagery , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War , Violence: Suicide
$21.42   $17.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A middle-grade edition of the New York Times nonfiction bestseller, and book five in the True Rescue series—a riveting WWII account of the greatest maritime disaster in US naval history.

On July 30, 1945, the U.S.S. Indianapolis was torpedoed in the South Pacific by a Japanese submarine. An estimated 300 men were killed upon impact; close to 900 sailors were cast into the Pacific Ocean, where they remained undetected by the navy for nearly four days. Battered by a savage sea, they struggled to fight off sharks, hypothermia, and hallucinations. By the time rescue arrived, all but 316 men had died. The disaster left many questions unanswered: How did the navy fail to realize the Indianapolis was missing? Why was it traveling unescorted in enemy waters? And most amazing of all, how did 316 men manage to survive?

Bestselling authors Doug Stanton and Michael J. Tougias adapt this thrilling tale of heroism and survival for young readers. For fans of The Finest Hours and I Survived.

List of crew members and rescuers. Map. Note from Doug Stanton. "The USS Indianapolis/Gwinn ‘Angel’ Scholarship." Glossary. Bibliography. 

 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Mild Language , Language: Grotesque/Disturbing Imagery , Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War , Violence: Suicide

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

240

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

940.54

AR

7.2: points 8

Lexile

970L

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2022

Book Genres

Narrative Nonfiction

Topics

USS Indianapolis (cruiser). World War II (1939–1945). US naval operations. Shipwrecks. Pacific Ocean. Survival. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 5-8
High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Nonfiction topics and approaches that will attract reluctant and avid readers alike.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Biographies,History,Nonfiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Science/STEAM
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

January 2023

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

December 2022

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

November 2022

High-Interest Nonfiction Middle Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.