Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

When You Get the Chance: A Novel



by
Emma Lord

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
St. Martin's/Wednesday Books
ISBN
9781250783349
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language
$23.57   $19.64
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

City High School

An effervescent, endearing, joyful contemporary romance of one young woman searching for her birth mother one summer, by New York Times bestselling author Emma Lord.

Nothing will get in the way of Millie Price’s dream to become a Broadway star. Not her lovable but super-introverted dad, who after raising Millie alone, doesn’t want to watch her leave home to pursue her dream. Not her pesky and ongoing drama club rival, Oliver, who is the very definition of Simmering Romantic Tension. And not the “Millie Moods,” the feelings of intense emotion that threaten to overwhelm, always at maddeningly inconvenient times. Millie needs an ally. And when a left-open browser brings Millie to her dad’s embarrassingly moody LiveJournal from 2003, Millie knows just what to do. She’s going to find her mom.

There’s Steph, a still-aspiring stage actress and receptionist at a talent agency. There’s Farrah, ethereal dance teacher who clearly doesn’t have the two left feet Millie has. And Beth, the chipper and sweet stage enthusiast with an equally exuberant fifteen-year-old daughter (A possible sister?! This is getting out of hand). But how can you find a new part of your life and expect it to fit into your old one, without leaving any marks? And why is it that when you go looking for the past, it somehow keeps bringing you back to what you’ve had all along?

Joyous, heartfelt, and brimming with emotion, When You Get the Chance is a novel about falling in love, making a mess, and learning to let go that will have you happy-sobbing and cheering all the way to the end.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 6"

Dewey

F

AR

5.8: points 15

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jul 2022

Book Genres

Romance, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Self-realization. Family life. Rivalries. Acting. Dancing. Broadway musicals. New York City. Mothers and daughters.

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-Millie Price has long dreamed of Broadway, and nothing is going to stop her from realizing those dreams-not an embarrassing viral video from her past, not a dad who thwarts her plans to attend the precollege theater program of her dreams in California, not even the rumors that her high school is finally going to be doing a production of Mamma Mia! in the fall. In an effort to pay for her potential new school, Millie stumbles upon a relic from her dad's past that sets her on her own Mamma Mia!-esque quest to discover the identity of her mother and leads her in some completely unexpected directions-to an internship alongside longtime rival Oliver, dance classes in a Brooklyn studio, an informal Broadway sing-along group, and maybe even her own romance. As Millie tries to solve this mystery, she comes to some important realizations about herself, her family, and where her future really lies. The book is full of Lord's characteristic quick wit and delightful banter, and packed with enough Broadway references to satisfy even the most avid theater fan. The rivals-to-romance development between Millie and Oliver is the stuff great rom-coms are made of, but Millie isn't lacking in regard to other supportive friends and family members either. VERDICT Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli's Kate in Waiting or Marisa Kanter's As If On Cue, theater kids, and rom-com enthusiasts, this would make a great addition to school and public library collections.-Alison Glass

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-Millie Price has long dreamed of Broadway, and nothing is going to stop her from realizing those dreams-not an embarrassing viral video from her past, not a dad who thwarts her plans to attend the precollege theater program of her dreams in California, not even the rumors that her high school is finally going to be doing a production of Mamma Mia! in the fall. In an effort to pay for her potential new school, Millie stumbles upon a relic from her dad's past that sets her on her own Mamma Mia!-esque quest to discover the identity of her mother and leads her in some completely unexpected directions-to an internship alongside longtime rival Oliver, dance classes in a Brooklyn studio, an informal Broadway sing-along group, and maybe even her own romance. As Millie tries to solve this mystery, she comes to some important realizations about herself, her family, and where her future really lies. The book is full of Lord's characteristic quick wit and delightful banter, and packed with enough Broadway references to satisfy even the most avid theater fan. The rivals-to-romance development between Millie and Oliver is the stuff great rom-coms are made of, but Millie isn't lacking in regard to other supportive friends and family members either. VERDICT Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli's Kate in Waiting or Marisa Kanter's As If On Cue, theater kids, and rom-com enthusiasts, this would make a great addition to school and public library collections.-Alison Glass

Grades 10 & Up
City High School
For Grades 10 & Up

Teen readers looking for realistic city settings and urban themes will enjoy these often-gritty titles that deal with contemporary situations and feature ethnically and culturally diverse characters. These titles will have special appeal for urban teens who want to see their own lives reflected in the books they read. Readers interested in the excitement and challenges of a city setting will also be drawn to the 12 books that comprise this category.

12 books per Year
$259.20 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 10 & Up
City High School
12 books per Year
$259.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From City High School

Twice as Perfect

by Louisa Onome

City High School

December 2022

A Show for Two

by Tashie Bhuiyan

City High School

November 2022

Kings of B'More

by R. Eric Thomas

City High School

October 2022

Finding Jupiter

by Kelis Rowe

City High School

September 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.