Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Things That Grow



by
Meredith Goldstein

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Imprint
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN
9781328770103
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language
$20.16   $16.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Young Adults

After her grandmother dies, a girl travels to different gardens to scatter her ashes, learning about life and love along the way. From Love Letters advice columnist and podcast host Meredith Goldstein, this emotionally resonant novel with a touch of humor is perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jenna Evans Welch.

When Lori’s Dorothy Parker–loving grandmother dies, Lori’s world is turned upside down. Grandma Sheryl was everything to Lori—and not just because Sheryl raised Lori when Lori’s mom got a job out of town. Now Lori’s mom is insisting on moving her away from her beloved Boston right before senior year. Desperate to stay for as long as possible, Lori insists on honoring her grandmother’s last request before she moves: to scatter Sheryl’s ashes near things that grow.

Along with her uncle Seth and Chris, best friend and love-of-her-life crush, Lori sets off on a road trip to visit her grandmother’s favorite gardens. Dodging forest bathers, scandalized volunteers, and angry homeowners, they come to terms with the shape of life after Grandma Sheryl. Saying goodbye isn’t easy, but Lori might just find a way to move forward surrounded by the people she loves.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Language: Strong Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2021

Book Genres

Romance, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Coming of age. Death. Grief. Friendship. Family. Romance. Automobile travel. Grandmothers. Gardens. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up–In the summer before her senior year of high school, Lori’s world turns upside down when she loses her favorite person: her Dorothy Parker–enthusiast, retired English teacher, garden-loving Grandma Sheryl. Lori has lived with her grandmother since her mom spends much of her time bouncing from job to job. Her grandma’s last wish? To be cremated and scattered near things that grow. Accompanied by her fun-loving writer uncle, Seth, and her best friend and object of her affection, Chris, Lori is determined to honor her grandmother by visiting all of her favorite gardens. Meanwhile, she tries to figure out a plan to stay in Massachusetts after her mom insists she move with her to Maryland for her senior year. Full of emotion and, at times, surprisingly humorous, this novel explores the devastating impact of loss and the different ways people are affected by grief. While serving up an honest depiction of loss, this novel provides the perfect balance between the serious and the lighthearted. The principal characters of Lori, Seth, and Chris are all well written, and their interactions with one another are genuine. Despite a lackluster conflict between Lori and Seth, it’s interesting to see the characters develop throughout. While imperfect, Goldstein creates a memorable story with a massive amount of heart. Lori is white and Jewish, and Seth is Black. VERDICT A strong contender for those seeking meaningful stories about love, loss, and grief.–Amanda Harding, Elmwood Elem. Sch., Wauconda, IL

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up–In the summer before her senior year of high school, Lori’s world turns upside down when she loses her favorite person: her Dorothy Parker–enthusiast, retired English teacher, garden-loving Grandma Sheryl. Lori has lived with her grandmother since her mom spends much of her time bouncing from job to job. Her grandma’s last wish? To be cremated and scattered near things that grow. Accompanied by her fun-loving writer uncle, Seth, and her best friend and object of her affection, Chris, Lori is determined to honor her grandmother by visiting all of her favorite gardens. Meanwhile, she tries to figure out a plan to stay in Massachusetts after her mom insists she move with her to Maryland for her senior year. Full of emotion and, at times, surprisingly humorous, this novel explores the devastating impact of loss and the different ways people are affected by grief. While serving up an honest depiction of loss, this novel provides the perfect balance between the serious and the lighthearted. The principal characters of Lori, Seth, and Chris are all well written, and their interactions with one another are genuine. Despite a lackluster conflict between Lori and Seth, it’s interesting to see the characters develop throughout. While imperfect, Goldstein creates a memorable story with a massive amount of heart. Lori is white and Jewish, and Seth is Black. VERDICT A strong contender for those seeking meaningful stories about love, loss, and grief.–Amanda Harding, Elmwood Elem. Sch., Wauconda, IL

Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
For Grades 9 & Up

Your older teen readers will appreciate the 12 selections in this category, a diverse mix of fiction and nonfiction covering complex issues and more mature content, from crushes and body changes to friendships and sibling rivalry.

12 books per Year
$201.60 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
12 books per Year
$201.60 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Young Adults

Better Than the Movies

by Lynn Painter

Young Adults

August 2021

Young Adults

July 2021

Things That Grow

by Meredith Goldstein

Young Adults

June 2021

A Pho Love Story

by Loan Le

Young Adults

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.