Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Show for Two



by
Tashie Bhuiyan

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Harlequin
Imprint
Harlequin
ISBN
9781335424563
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes
$23.57   $19.64
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

City High School

From the author of Counting Down with You comes a new swoony YA romance about an indie film star who enrolls in high school under a secret identity, and the girl who will do whatever it takes to convince him to star in her short film. Perfect for fans of Emma Lord and Leah Johnson.

"Wholly heartwarming and enchanting." —Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights and Our Violent Ends

New from the author of Counting Down with You comes a sparkling YA romance about an aspiring screenwriter who falls for the indie film star who goes undercover at her school.

All Mina Rahman wants is to finally win the Golden Ivy student film competition, get into her dream school, and leave New York City behind for good. When indie film star Emmitt Ramos enrolls in her high school under a secret identity to research his next role, he agrees to star in her short film for the competition…if she acts as his NYC tour guide.

As Mina ventures across the five boroughs with Emmitt, the city she grew up in starts to look more like home than it ever has before. Suddenly, Mina’s dreams—which once seemed impenetrable—begin to crumble, and she’s forced to ask herself: Is winning worth losing everything?

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

416

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction, Romance

Topics

Actors. Bangladeshi Americans. Contests. Film and motion pictures. High schools. Photographers. Mental health. New York City. Friendship. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Mina's senior year feels like the end of a prison sentence before she escapes New York City and her strict, unforgiving Bangladeshi Muslim parents for film school. Winning the Golden Ivy Film Competition is her ticket out, but she needs a celebrity cameo to seal the deal. Enter Emmitt Ramos, an up-and-coming indie movie star who happens to be undercover at Mina's school. Emmitt, of Chinese and Spanish descent, and Mina get off to a catastrophically bad start, but when he needs a local to help him scout spots for a photography contest, he and Mina come to an agreement. Soon, their forced friendship blooms into more, and Mina and Emmitt both learn that running away is harder when you've found your true home. This book is a love letter to finding your passion without losing yourself and was inspired by the author's own experience of Tom Holland attending her high school. VERDICT Ideal for upper-YA readers who are thinking about the future, enjoy authentic representations of depression, and don't mind a fair bit of cursing.-Aryssa Damron

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Mina's senior year feels like the end of a prison sentence before she escapes New York City and her strict, unforgiving Bangladeshi Muslim parents for film school. Winning the Golden Ivy Film Competition is her ticket out, but she needs a celebrity cameo to seal the deal. Enter Emmitt Ramos, an up-and-coming indie movie star who happens to be undercover at Mina's school. Emmitt, of Chinese and Spanish descent, and Mina get off to a catastrophically bad start, but when he needs a local to help him scout spots for a photography contest, he and Mina come to an agreement. Soon, their forced friendship blooms into more, and Mina and Emmitt both learn that running away is harder when you've found your true home. This book is a love letter to finding your passion without losing yourself and was inspired by the author's own experience of Tom Holland attending her high school. VERDICT Ideal for upper-YA readers who are thinking about the future, enjoy authentic representations of depression, and don't mind a fair bit of cursing.-Aryssa Damron

Grades 10 & Up
City High School
For Grades 10 & Up

Teen readers looking for realistic city settings and urban themes will enjoy these often-gritty titles that deal with contemporary situations and feature ethnically and culturally diverse characters. These titles will have special appeal for urban teens who want to see their own lives reflected in the books they read. Readers interested in the excitement and challenges of a city setting will also be drawn to the 12 books that comprise this category.

12 books per Year
$259.20 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 10 & Up
City High School
12 books per Year
$259.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From City High School

We Are the Scribes

by Randi Pink

City High School

February 2023

City High School

January 2023

Twice as Perfect

by Louisa Onome

City High School

December 2022

A Show for Two

by Tashie Bhuiyan

City High School

November 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.