Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Great Santa Stakeout



by
Betsy Bird
illustrated by
Dan Santat

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Scholastic
Imprint
Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN
9781338169980
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$16.20   $13.50
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

JLG Category

Primary Plus

Freddy Melcher is Santa's #1 Fan. He has Santa posters, Santa action figures, and even Santa underwear. But there is one prize Freddy desperately wants: A photograph taken with Santa, fresh out of the chimney.

Oh, is it risky! It's awfully hard to sneak anything by someone who can see you when you're sleeping and knows when you're awake. That's why Freddy has been extra good this year…at hiding his plans.

Will Freddy get away with his delightfully devious scheme to outwit Santa Claus himself and capture the ultimate selfie?

Full-color illustrations were created with ink, watercolor, and Adobe Photoshop.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

11" x 8 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

2.5: points 0.5

Lexile

550L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2019

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Santa Claus. Christmas stories. Fans (persons). Selfies (photography). Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Kirkus Reviews, Booklist*, School Library Journal, The Horn Book Magazine, Publishers Weekly

School Library Journal

Santa Claus may be famous, but he is one elusive character. Freddy Melcher is his number one fan. The boy’s room is decorated with Santa memorabilia, and Freddy dresses like Santa for holidays all year long. Freddy needs only one thing to complete his Santa Claus collection: a selfie with the jolly old elf himself. But how can Freddy outwit someone who knows when he is sleeping and when he is awake? Freddy prepares for an entire year to trap his hero, but on the big night, things do not go as he predicts; instead, he receives a prize he had not anticipated. The mystery of Santa Claus is one that intrigues many children and adults alike, and this is a clever take on the topic. The illustrations are brightly colored and heavily emotive, making the images more reminiscent of graphic novels than of traditional picture books. Oversize pages form the perfect backdrop for this story, as each spread is doubly engaging thanks to its size and saturation of color. Written primarily for an early elementary school audience, the text varies in length on each page, with some words exaggerated in size for additional visual appeal. Some pictures incorporate text that is not part of the story, inspiring readers to look closer. A delightfully lighthearted holiday addition for fans of The Santa Clause and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

Horn Book

Freddy Melcher (a joke for you long-timers) is more than a little ho-ho-hung up on Santa, and he doesn’t limit his obsession to December. He wears the red suit at the drop of a hat, no matter the occasion, and his Santa paraphernalia collec¬tion is beyond compare. “But there was one prize Freddy desperately wanted”: a selfie with the man himself. And obtaining that is going to require the skills of a sleuthing mastermind. Santat’s (SANTAt’s?) gleeful mixed-media illustrations are in cahoots with the rollicking text, which has Freddy devising and implementing an elaborate, almost perfect plan to detain the big guy—but Saint Nick is no fool. He is still Santa, though, so Freddy isn’t left empty handed or defeated. “There’s always next year!”

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Santa Claus may be famous, but he is one elusive character. Freddy Melcher is his number one fan. The boy’s room is decorated with Santa memorabilia, and Freddy dresses like Santa for holidays all year long. Freddy needs only one thing to complete his Santa Claus collection: a selfie with the jolly old elf himself. But how can Freddy outwit someone who knows when he is sleeping and when he is awake? Freddy prepares for an entire year to trap his hero, but on the big night, things do not go as he predicts; instead, he receives a prize he had not anticipated. The mystery of Santa Claus is one that intrigues many children and adults alike, and this is a clever take on the topic. The illustrations are brightly colored and heavily emotive, making the images more reminiscent of graphic novels than of traditional picture books. Oversize pages form the perfect backdrop for this story, as each spread is doubly engaging thanks to its size and saturation of color. Written primarily for an early elementary school audience, the text varies in length on each page, with some words exaggerated in size for additional visual appeal. Some pictures incorporate text that is not part of the story, inspiring readers to look closer. A delightfully lighthearted holiday addition for fans of The Santa Clause and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

Horn Book

Freddy Melcher (a joke for you long-timers) is more than a little ho-ho-hung up on Santa, and he doesn’t limit his obsession to December. He wears the red suit at the drop of a hat, no matter the occasion, and his Santa paraphernalia collec¬tion is beyond compare. “But there was one prize Freddy desperately wanted”: a selfie with the man himself. And obtaining that is going to require the skills of a sleuthing mastermind. Santat’s (SANTAt’s?) gleeful mixed-media illustrations are in cahoots with the rollicking text, which has Freddy devising and implementing an elaborate, almost perfect plan to detain the big guy—but Saint Nick is no fool. He is still Santa, though, so Freddy isn’t left empty handed or defeated. “There’s always next year!”

Grades K-1
Primary Plus
For Grades K-1

Our Primary level is filled with so many great books, it wasn't possible to offer just 12 selections a year. Our P+ category makes a great thing even better-bringing you 12 additional titles for the same reading level.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Beginning Readers,Fiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades K-1
Primary Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Primary Plus

Memory Jars

by Vera Brosgol

Primary Plus

September 2021
Out of stock

My Tree

by Hope Lim

Primary Plus

September 2021

Primary Plus

August 2021
Out of stock

Sunrise Summer

by Matthew Swanson

Primary Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.