The Great Santa Stakeout

By: Betsy Bird

Illustrator: Dan Santat

Freddy Melcher is Santa's #1 Fan. He has Santa posters, Santa action figures, and even Santa underwear. But there is one prize Freddy desperately wants: A photograph taken with Santa, fresh out of the chimney.

Oh, is it risky! It's awfully hard to sneak anything by someone who can see you when you're sleeping and knows when you're awake. That's why Freddy has been extra good this year…at hiding his plans.

Will Freddy get away with his delightfully devious scheme to outwit Santa Claus himself and capture the ultimate selfie?

Full-color illustrations were created with ink, watercolor, and Adobe Photoshop.

ISBN: 9781338169980

JLG Release: Nov 2019


Sensitive Areas: None
Topics: Santa Claus , Christmas stories , Fans (persons) , Selfies (photography) , Humorous stories

$16.30  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Primary Plus

Grades K-1

14 titles/year

$228.20/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Kirkus Reviews, Booklist*, School Library Journal, The Horn Book Magazine, Publishers Weekly

School Library Journal

Santa Claus may be famous, but he is one elusive character. Freddy Melcher is his number one fan. The boy’s room is decorated with Santa memorabilia, and Freddy dresses like Santa for holidays all year long. Freddy needs only one thing to complete his Santa Claus collection: a selfie with the jolly old elf himself. But how can Freddy outwit someo Santa Claus may be famous, but he is one elusive character. Freddy Melcher is his number one fan. The boy’s room is decorated with Santa memorabilia, and Freddy dresses like Santa for holidays all year long. Freddy needs only one thing to complete his Santa Claus collection: a selfie with the jolly old elf himself. But how can Freddy outwit someone who knows when he is sleeping and when he is awake? Freddy prepares for an entire year to trap his hero, but on the big night, things do not go as he predicts; instead, he receives a prize he had not anticipated. The mystery of Santa Claus is one that intrigues many children and adults alike, and this is a clever take on the topic. The illustrations are brightly colored and heavily emotive, making the images more reminiscent of graphic novels than of traditional picture books. Oversize pages form the perfect backdrop for this story, as each spread is doubly engaging thanks to its size and saturation of color. Written primarily for an early elementary school audience, the text varies in length on each page, with some words exaggerated in size for additional visual appeal. Some pictures incorporate text that is not part of the story, inspiring readers to look closer. A delightfully lighthearted holiday addition for fans of The Santa Clause and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

Horn Book

Freddy Melcher (a joke for you long-timers) is more than a little ho-ho-hung up on Santa, and he doesn’t limit his obsession to December. He wears the red suit at the drop of a hat, no matter the occasion, and his Santa paraphernalia collec¬tion is beyond compare. “But there was one prize Freddy desperately wanted”: a selfie with the man him Freddy Melcher (a joke for you long-timers) is more than a little ho-ho-hung up on Santa, and he doesn’t limit his obsession to December. He wears the red suit at the drop of a hat, no matter the occasion, and his Santa paraphernalia collec¬tion is beyond compare. “But there was one prize Freddy desperately wanted”: a selfie with the man himself. And obtaining that is going to require the skills of a sleuthing mastermind. Santat’s (SANTAt’s?) gleeful mixed-media illustrations are in cahoots with the rollicking text, which has Freddy devising and implementing an elaborate, almost perfect plan to detain the big guy—but Saint Nick is no fool. He is still Santa, though, so Freddy isn’t left empty handed or defeated. “There’s always next year!”

Book Details

ISBN

9781338169980

First Release

November 2019

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

E

Trim Size

11" x 8 1/2"

Page Count

40

Accelerated Reader

Level 2.5; Points: 0.5;

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

Level 550L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Arthur A. Levine Books

Potentially Sensitive Areas

None

Topics

Santa Claus, Christmas stories, Fans (persons), Selfies (photography), Humorous stories,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Picture Book

Recommended Titles From Primary Plus

The Balcony

by Melissa Castrillón

Primary Plus

$16.30

Bruce's Big Storm

by Ryan T. Higgins

Primary Plus

$16.30

Otto Goes North

by Ulrika Kestere

Primary Plus

$16.30

Spencer's New Pet

by Jessie Sima

Primary Plus

$16.30
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.