Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Girl's Guide to Love and Magic



by
Debbie Rigaud

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Scholastic
Imprint
Scholastic Press
ISBN
9781338681741
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Mild Language
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

PG High Plus

Perfect for fans of The Sun Is Also a Star and Blackout, this YA novel from Debbie Rigaud is a celebration of Haitian and Caribbean culture, and a story of first love, vodou, and finding yourself, all set against the backdrop of the West Indian Day Parade in Brooklyn.

Cicely Destin, a Haitian American teen living in Brooklyn, loves the annual West Indian Day Parade that takes place in her neighborhood. The colors, clothes, tastes, sights, and sounds all celebrating Caribbean culture fill her with pride and joy. This year, the parade will be extra special: it falls on Cicely's birthday, AND Cicely will get to hang out with her awesome aunt, Mimose, a social media influencer known for dabbling in Haitian vodou. But when Mimose's dabbling becomes a little too real, and she seems to be possessed by a rogue spirit right before the parade, it's up to Cicely, plus her best friend, Renee, and her crush (!), Kwame, to try to set things right. Cicely and her friends set off on a winding, thrilling scavenger hunt through Brooklyn to find the items that will undo the possession. But can Cicely help her aunt if she doesn't fully realize her own powers just yet?

This nuanced, joyful, and loving exploration of Haitian American culture, based on Debbie Rigaud's own experiences growing up, is pure magic.

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Mild Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

780L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction, Romance

Topics

Haitian American teenagers. Aunts. Vodou. Spirit possession. Magic. Friendship. Brooklyn, New York. New York City. Caribbean culture. West Indian people. Black people.  Romance. Aunts.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
PG High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

For high school readers who enjoy fascinating stories but want less edgy content, PGH is the perfect choice. Be assured that the 14 books offered in this category will be inoffensive to readers, teachers and parents.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
PG High Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From PG High Plus

Salt and Sugar

by Rebecca Carvalho

PG High Plus

January 2023

Spells for Lost Things

by Jenna Evans Welch

PG High Plus

December 2022

Azar on Fire

by Olivia Abtahi

PG High Plus

November 2022

PG High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.