Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

What About Worms!?


Series
Elephant and Piggy Like Reading!

by
Ryan T. Higgins

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Disney Book Group
Imprint
Disney-Hyperion
ISBN
9781368045735

Awards and Honors
2021 Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$12.90   $10.75
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Tiger is big. Tiger is tough. And Tiger has an important note for you.

Dear Reader,
WATCH OUT FOR WORMS! They are everywhere! They might even be in this book!

Your friend,
Tiger


P. S. Tiger is afraid of worms.

Full-color illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

64

Trim Size

6 3/4" x 9 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

1.6: points 0.5

Lexile

AD310L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2020

Book Genres

Beginning Reader

Topics

Fear. Tigers. Worms. Flowers. Apples. Books. Humorous stories. 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Piggie and Elephant have a grave dilemma: Should they read a book about worms, even if they are uncertain how it will end? They bravely decide to, and as they read, they meet a tiger who is also afraid of worms. Worms are obviously slimy and wiggly, thinks Tiger. Suddenly every object Tiger comes upon is related to worms. Flowers plus dirt equal worms. Crunchy apples equal worms. A book on the ground with a wiggly illustration must be a worm, too! Tiger runs away just as a group of striped worms declares it is afraid of tigers. Ultimately, the worms realize the book Tiger left behind is about tigers, but will they be daring enough to read it? Fans of Piggie and Elephant will be drawn to this title because of Willems’s familiar text style. The accompanying illustrations on white and colored backgrounds effectively show the characters’ energy and emotions. VERDICT Readers will identify with the characters’ reluctance to try new things and learning about unfamiliar ­topics.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Piggie and Elephant have a grave dilemma: Should they read a book about worms, even if they are uncertain how it will end? They bravely decide to, and as they read, they meet a tiger who is also afraid of worms. Worms are obviously slimy and wiggly, thinks Tiger. Suddenly every object Tiger comes upon is related to worms. Flowers plus dirt equal worms. Crunchy apples equal worms. A book on the ground with a wiggly illustration must be a worm, too! Tiger runs away just as a group of striped worms declares it is afraid of tigers. Ultimately, the worms realize the book Tiger left behind is about tigers, but will they be daring enough to read it? Fans of Piggie and Elephant will be drawn to this title because of Willems’s familiar text style. The accompanying illustrations on white and colored backgrounds effectively show the characters’ energy and emotions. VERDICT Readers will identify with the characters’ reluctance to try new things and learning about unfamiliar ­topics.

Grades K-1
Emergent Readers Plus
For Grades K-1

Engaging short texts and large type for children who are beginning to read. Books feature familiar vocabulary and natural repetition as well as playful hooks to pull in readers. With artwork and layout designed to enhance comprehension, these books foster pleasurable and successful early reading experience.

14 books per Year
$189.00 per Year
Interests
Beginning Readers,ESL,Fiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades K-1
Emergent Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$189.00 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Emergent Readers Plus

Cow Says Meow

by Kirsti Call

Emergent Readers Plus

September 2021

Ducks Run Amok

by J.E. Morris

Emergent Readers Plus

September 2021

Fox at Night

by Corey R. Tabor

Emergent Readers Plus

August 2021

Jack Gets Zapped

by Mac Barnett

Emergent Readers Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.