Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Way Past Winter



by
Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Chronicle Books
Imprint
Chronicle
ISBN
9781452181554
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence
$16.80   $14.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Mila, her sisters, and her brother Oskar live in a small forest cabin, surviving in a world gripped by frost and snow. When mysterious, fur-coated men show up on her doorstep, Mila and her family grant them shelter for the night. But in the morning, the men are gone—and they’ve taken Oskar with them. Determined to save her brother, Mila and her sisters set out on a mission to rescue him. But challenges await them at every turn: wolves with the speed of demons, tempestuous gold, an untrustworthy mage—and always the relentless, stinging freeze of winter.

In this riveting adventure, award winning and internationally acclaimed author Kiran Millwood Hargrave unleashes magic, an eternal winter, and one girl’s unbreakable determination to reunite her family. Inspired by European folklore, this is a classic adventure story in the vein of Phillip Pullman, Anne Ursu, and Kelly Barnhill that evokes the best of the middle grade fantasy genre.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

284

Trim Size

5 1/4" x 8"

Dewey

F

AR

5.3: points 7

Lexile

780L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jan 2021

Book Genres

Fairy Tales/Folktales, Fantasy

Topics

Family. Siblings. Brothers and sisters. Kidnapping. Quests (expeditions). Winter. Action and adventure. Fairy tales and folklore. Fantasy and magic. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-6–Imagine a world where winter hasn’t ended for five long years, and “arrived so sudden and sharp it stuck birds to branches.” That’s the world Mila lives in. She can remember spring, but it’s a distant memory—like the memory of her mother, who died when her sister was born, and the memory of her father, who left the house five years ago and never returned. Now it’s just Mila and her siblings, older sister Sanna, older brother Oskar, and young Pipa trying to survive the cold, dark days. When a strange man and a group of boys appear one night, Mila is instantly wary. But Oskar gives the group permission to camp near the house. When the girls awaken in the morning they find the group has vanished without a trace, and Oskar with them. Sanna believes Oskar left of his own will and wanted to be rid of them, but Mila is certain he was taken and that it is up to her to find him. Hargrave’s lush language and imagery completely immerses readers in a Nordic-inspired world where legend mingles with reality. The Orekson siblings, all depicted as white, embody the steadfastness of the forest around them in a story of love, determination, and conservation. VERDICT This rich title begs to be read while wrapped in a warm blanket, sipping a cup of hot chocolate. Recommended.–Heather Webb, Worthington Libs., OH

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-6–Imagine a world where winter hasn’t ended for five long years, and “arrived so sudden and sharp it stuck birds to branches.” That’s the world Mila lives in. She can remember spring, but it’s a distant memory—like the memory of her mother, who died when her sister was born, and the memory of her father, who left the house five years ago and never returned. Now it’s just Mila and her siblings, older sister Sanna, older brother Oskar, and young Pipa trying to survive the cold, dark days. When a strange man and a group of boys appear one night, Mila is instantly wary. But Oskar gives the group permission to camp near the house. When the girls awaken in the morning they find the group has vanished without a trace, and Oskar with them. Sanna believes Oskar left of his own will and wanted to be rid of them, but Mila is certain he was taken and that it is up to her to find him. Hargrave’s lush language and imagery completely immerses readers in a Nordic-inspired world where legend mingles with reality. The Orekson siblings, all depicted as white, embody the steadfastness of the forest around them in a story of love, determination, and conservation. VERDICT This rich title begs to be read while wrapped in a warm blanket, sipping a cup of hot chocolate. Recommended.–Heather Webb, Worthington Libs., OH

Grades 5-8
Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Your middle-school readers will thrill to new futures, fantasy realms, and alternate realities. Readers will look forward to discovering a new world monthly with the 12 books in this category.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

The Bear House

by Meaghan McIsaac

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

December 2021

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

November 2021

The Verdigris Pawn

by Alysa Wishingrad

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

October 2021

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

October 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.