Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

When You Trap a Tiger



by
Tae Keller

Edition
Library edition with trade jacket added
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Random House
ISBN
9781524715717

Awards and Honors
Boston Globe-Horn Book Fiction and Poetry Honor Book
2021 Newbery Medal Winner
Asian/Pacific American Award - Children's Literature
Publisher's Weekly Best Middle Grade Books of 2020
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Some stories refuse to stay bottled up…

When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni’s Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal—return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni’s health—Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice…and the courage to face a tiger.

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.1: points 8

Lexile

590L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2020

Book Genres

Folklore; Magical Realism

Topics

Sisters. Grandmothers. Storytelling. Sickness. Tigers. Korean Americans. Korean folklore. Friendship.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Kirkus Reviews*, Booklist*, Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

Lily has always loved her halmoni’s stories; Korean folktales that begin, “long, long ago, when tiger walked like a man.” But Lily never expected to encounter the fierce magical tiger in her sick grandmother’s basement, or to strike a deal to heal Halmoni by releasing the powerful stories she stole as a young woman. Keller illuminates Lily’s desperation to heal Halmoni and bring her family together through the tiger stories interspersed throughout the book; stories of heroism and self-sacrifice, of sisterhood and bravery. Yet the book’s greatest strength is in its complex human characters, from Halmoni whose traumatic immigration story spurs her to unite her community through kindness and herbal remedies, to Lily’s prickly older sister Sam, whose grief and fear stirred up by Halmoni’s illness exists alongside a budding romance with a new girlfriend. Lily worries about her invisibility and living up to the “quiet Asian girl” stereotype she hates, but she doesn’t know how else to cope with her volatile teenage sister or her mother’s need to pretend that everything is okay, despite the weight of family trauma past and present. Keller weaves ancient folklore with Korean history through contemporary magical realism. She calls on the power of stories to bring families and communities together and the ability to heal by speaking to their pasts. This deeply moving book is a must-purchase for all collections, showcasing vulnerable and mythic storytelling in the vein of Erin Entrada Kelly and Kacen Callender.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Lily has always loved her halmoni’s stories; Korean folktales that begin, “long, long ago, when tiger walked like a man.” But Lily never expected to encounter the fierce magical tiger in her sick grandmother’s basement, or to strike a deal to heal Halmoni by releasing the powerful stories she stole as a young woman. Keller illuminates Lily’s desperation to heal Halmoni and bring her family together through the tiger stories interspersed throughout the book; stories of heroism and self-sacrifice, of sisterhood and bravery. Yet the book’s greatest strength is in its complex human characters, from Halmoni whose traumatic immigration story spurs her to unite her community through kindness and herbal remedies, to Lily’s prickly older sister Sam, whose grief and fear stirred up by Halmoni’s illness exists alongside a budding romance with a new girlfriend. Lily worries about her invisibility and living up to the “quiet Asian girl” stereotype she hates, but she doesn’t know how else to cope with her volatile teenage sister or her mother’s need to pretend that everything is okay, despite the weight of family trauma past and present. Keller weaves ancient folklore with Korean history through contemporary magical realism. She calls on the power of stories to bring families and communities together and the ability to heal by speaking to their pasts. This deeply moving book is a must-purchase for all collections, showcasing vulnerable and mythic storytelling in the vein of Erin Entrada Kelly and Kacen Callender.

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High
For Grades 5-7

The perfect literary mix for your middle-grade readers. Featuring subject matter a bit more complex and multi-dimensional, this category is packed with captivating novels and fascinating nonfiction. Expect the 12 books offered in tis category to fly off the shelf.

12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High
12 books per Year
$195.60 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High

One Kid's Trash

by Jamie Sumner

Upper Elementary & Junior High

November 2021

Down to Earth

by Betty Culley

Upper Elementary & Junior High

October 2021

A Glasshouse of Stars

by Shirley Marr

Upper Elementary & Junior High

September 2021

Upper Elementary & Junior High

August 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.