Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Amelia Six

By: Kristin L. Gray

Eleven-year-old Amelia Ashford—Millie to her friends (if she had any, that is)—doesn’t realize just how much adventure awaits her when she’s given the opportunity of a lifetime: to spend the night in Amelia Earhart’s childhood home with five other girls. Make that five strangers. But Millie’s mom is a pilot like the famous Amelia, and Millie would love to have something to write to her about…if only she had her address.

Once at Amelia’s house in Atchison, Kansas, Millie stumbles upon a display of Amelia’s famous flight goggles. She can’t believe her good luck, since they’re about to be relocated to a fancy museum in Washington, DC. But her luck changes quickly when the goggles disappear, and Millie was the last to see them. Soon, fingers are pointing in all directions, and someone falls strangely ill. Suddenly, a fun night of scavenger hunts and sweets takes a nosedive and the girls aren’t sure who to trust. With a blizzard raging outside and a house full of suspects, the girls have no choice but to band together. It’s up to the Amelia Six to find the culprit and return the goggles to their rightful place. Or the next body to collapse could be one of theirs.

Suggestions for further information. Author’s note. Selected sources.

ISBN: 9781534418851

JLG Release: Sep 2020


Sensitive Areas: Violence: Mild Violence
Topics: Amelia Earhart (1897-1937) , Lost and found possessions , Treasure hunt (game) , Museums , Mystery and detective stories , Aviation , Girls and women

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

Grades 2-6

14 titles/year

$213.50/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Eleven-year-old Millie is traveling to Atchison, KS, to spend the night in the historic home of acclaimed aviator Amelia Earhart. Upon her arrival, she meets five other girls who will also stay in the house overnight. However, by nightfall, Amelia’s famed goggles go missing. Millie teams up with her new friends to solve the mystery of their disap Eleven-year-old Millie is traveling to Atchison, KS, to spend the night in the historic home of acclaimed aviator Amelia Earhart. Upon her arrival, she meets five other girls who will also stay in the house overnight. However, by nightfall, Amelia’s famed goggles go missing. Millie teams up with her new friends to solve the mystery of their disappearance. The “Amelia Six” must investigate every clue, from a suspicious herbal tea to a Christmas tree stored in a closet. This fast-paced whodunit reaches a satisfying and surprising finale, with each heroine’s unique set of skills on full display. This novel shines with its brilliant cast of diverse, smart, and spunky characters. Gray also makes full use of the mystery genre to illustrate problem-solving, critical thinking, and deduction and reasoning skills. The pacing of the plot and short chapters make this a strong choice for a classroom read-aloud, or a bedtime story for families. This is a delightful and clever middle grade novel that will appeal to readers of historical fiction and mystery. Fans of Ben Guterson’s “Winterhouse” series and Kristin O’Donnell Tubb’s “Story Collector” will find a kindred spirit in Millie.

Book Details

ISBN

9781534418851

First Release

September 2020

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

272

Accelerated Reader

N/A

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

Level 570L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Paula Wiseman

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Violence: Mild Violence

Topics

Amelia Earhart (1897-1937), Lost and found possessions, Treasure hunt (game), Museums, Mystery and detective stories, Aviation, Girls and women,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

The Candy Mafia

by Lavie Tidhar

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

$15.25

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

$15.25

The Amelia Six

by Kristin L. Gray

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

$15.25

The Unadoptables

by Hana Tooke

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

$15.25
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.