Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Amelia Six



by
Kristin L. Gray

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Imprint
Paula Wiseman
ISBN
9781534418851
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence
$14.10   $11.75
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Eleven-year-old Amelia Ashford—Millie to her friends (if she had any, that is)—doesn’t realize just how much adventure awaits her when she’s given the opportunity of a lifetime: to spend the night in Amelia Earhart’s childhood home with five other girls. Make that five strangers. But Millie’s mom is a pilot like the famous Amelia, and Millie would love to have something to write to her about…if only she had her address.

Once at Amelia’s house in Atchison, Kansas, Millie stumbles upon a display of Amelia’s famous flight goggles. She can’t believe her good luck, since they’re about to be relocated to a fancy museum in Washington, DC. But her luck changes quickly when the goggles disappear, and Millie was the last to see them. Soon, fingers are pointing in all directions, and someone falls strangely ill. Suddenly, a fun night of scavenger hunts and sweets takes a nosedive and the girls aren’t sure who to trust. With a blizzard raging outside and a house full of suspects, the girls have no choice but to band together. It’s up to the Amelia Six to find the culprit and return the goggles to their rightful place. Or the next body to collapse could be one of theirs.

Suggestions for further information. Author’s note. Selected sources.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

272

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.2: points 7

Lexile

570L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2020

Book Genres

Mystery, Detective Story

Topics

Amelia Earhart (1897-1937). Lost and found possessions. Treasure hunt (game). Museums. Mystery and detective stories. Aviation. Girls and women.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Eleven-year-old Millie is traveling to Atchison, KS, to spend the night in the historic home of acclaimed aviator Amelia Earhart. Upon her arrival, she meets five other girls who will also stay in the house overnight. However, by nightfall, Amelia’s famed goggles go missing. Millie teams up with her new friends to solve the mystery of their disappearance. The “Amelia Six” must investigate every clue, from a suspicious herbal tea to a Christmas tree stored in a closet. This fast-paced whodunit reaches a satisfying and surprising finale, with each heroine’s unique set of skills on full display. This novel shines with its brilliant cast of diverse, smart, and spunky characters. Gray also makes full use of the mystery genre to illustrate problem-solving, critical thinking, and deduction and reasoning skills. The pacing of the plot and short chapters make this a strong choice for a classroom read-aloud, or a bedtime story for families. This is a delightful and clever middle grade novel that will appeal to readers of historical fiction and mystery. Fans of Ben Guterson’s “Winterhouse” series and Kristin O’Donnell Tubb’s “Story Collector” will find a kindred spirit in Millie.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Eleven-year-old Millie is traveling to Atchison, KS, to spend the night in the historic home of acclaimed aviator Amelia Earhart. Upon her arrival, she meets five other girls who will also stay in the house overnight. However, by nightfall, Amelia’s famed goggles go missing. Millie teams up with her new friends to solve the mystery of their disappearance. The “Amelia Six” must investigate every clue, from a suspicious herbal tea to a Christmas tree stored in a closet. This fast-paced whodunit reaches a satisfying and surprising finale, with each heroine’s unique set of skills on full display. This novel shines with its brilliant cast of diverse, smart, and spunky characters. Gray also makes full use of the mystery genre to illustrate problem-solving, critical thinking, and deduction and reasoning skills. The pacing of the plot and short chapters make this a strong choice for a classroom read-aloud, or a bedtime story for families. This is a delightful and clever middle grade novel that will appeal to readers of historical fiction and mystery. Fans of Ben Guterson’s “Winterhouse” series and Kristin O’Donnell Tubb’s “Story Collector” will find a kindred spirit in Millie.

Grades 2-6
Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Spine-tingling tales of suspense and adventure compose this 14 book category-filled with both fiction and nonfiction titles. Elementary readers who thrive on a thrill will really spark to these selections.

14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

Temple Alley Summer

by Sachiko Kashiwaba

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

November 2021

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

October 2021

Dark Waters

by Katherine Arden

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

October 2021

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.