Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Legendborn


Series
The Legendborn Cycle

by
Tracy Deonn

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Imprint
Margaret McElderry
ISBN
9781534441606

Awards and Honors
2021 Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award
2021 Ignyte Best Young Adult Novel Award Finalist
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Language: Strong Language , Language: Racial or Ethnic Epithet/Slur , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: General , Violence: Graphic Descriptions
$17.10   $14.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at UNC–Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape—until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus.

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down.

And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts—and fails—to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, she’ll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates.

She recruits Nick, a self-exiled Legendborn with his own grudge against the group, and their reluctant partnership pulls them deeper into the society’s secrets—and closer to each other. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she’ll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down—or join the fight.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Language: Strong Language , Language: Racial or Ethnic Epithet/Slur , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: General , Violence: Graphic Descriptions

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

512

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

F

AR

5.2: points 24

Lexile

HL730L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2020

Book Genres

Fantasy, Magic

Topics

Secret societies. Genealogy. Demonology. African Americans. Black people. Colleges and universities. Magic. North Carolina. Retellings of Arthurian legends.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-In Deonn's rich and explosive debut, readers are introduced to a meticulously-built world of magic with roots in Arthurian legend and traditions of the African American South. After her mother's death, Bree enters an Early College program, despite still processing her grief. It's not long before she's pulled into a secret society, and is pushed by circumstance into dangerous tournaments to go from Page to Squire all while watching her back for the demons who would kill her. This book discusses pertinent topics such as institutional racism, intergenerational trauma, and feminism with grace and a natural, unforced style. Readers will delight in a delicious love triangle that promises to get more delectable with a sequel. Though heavy at times with exposition, the novel provides plenty of scenes rife with action and emotion. Deonn pulls off a surprise ending that will urge readers to start from the beginning, to collect the clues laid along the way. VERDICT A promising series debut perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys. This book underscores the movement for more inclusive versions of traditional Western narratives, and will be a favorite of contemporary fantasy readers. Highly recommended.-Abby Hargreaves, DC P.L.?(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-In Deonn's rich and explosive debut, readers are introduced to a meticulously-built world of magic with roots in Arthurian legend and traditions of the African American South. After her mother's death, Bree enters an Early College program, despite still processing her grief. It's not long before she's pulled into a secret society, and is pushed by circumstance into dangerous tournaments to go from Page to Squire all while watching her back for the demons who would kill her. This book discusses pertinent topics such as institutional racism, intergenerational trauma, and feminism with grace and a natural, unforced style. Readers will delight in a delicious love triangle that promises to get more delectable with a sequel. Though heavy at times with exposition, the novel provides plenty of scenes rife with action and emotion. Deonn pulls off a surprise ending that will urge readers to start from the beginning, to collect the clues laid along the way. VERDICT A promising series debut perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys. This book underscores the movement for more inclusive versions of traditional Western narratives, and will be a favorite of contemporary fantasy readers. Highly recommended.-Abby Hargreaves, DC P.L.?(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Grades 9 & Up
Current Trends High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

The 12 books in this category contain stories featuring highly popular themes such as vampires, werewolves, steampunk, and dystopia.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Nonfiction,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Current Trends High Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Current Trends High Plus

Current Trends High Plus

January 2023

How to Survive Your Murder

by Danielle Valentine

Current Trends High Plus

December 2022

All of Our Demise

by Amanda Foody

Current Trends High Plus

November 2022

Cake Eater

by Allyson Dahlin

Current Trends High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.