Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Destination Anywhere



by
Sara Barnard
illustrated by
Mel Four

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Imprint
Simon & Schuster BFYR
ISBN
9781534483903
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Sarah Dessen, this lushly written and heart-wrenching novel follows a teen girl on a one-way trip away from her life and slowly reveals what made her leave it all behind.

Sometimes you have to leave your life behind to find your place in the world…

Peyton King has always wanted to belong. She seizes the opportunity to start over at a new school and finally finds real connections with the friends she’s always dreamed of and even an actual boyfriend!

But after flying high in her newfound happiness, Peyton comes crashing down when reality sets in and the ones she cares about let her down. Peyton’s friends can’t fix her and she can’t help them if they won’t let her. If she wants to find real, lasting happiness, Peyton will have to search somewhere else.

With nothing but her sketchpad and a backpack, she buys a one-way ticket and gets on a plane. How far will she go to change her story?Black-and-white illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Strong Language , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2021

Book Genres

Romance, Realistic Fiction

Topics

High school. Friendship. Traveling. Romance. Family. Self-acceptance. Bullying. Mental health.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–Making friends has never been easy for white 17-year-old Peyton. After years of being bullied, she’s more than happy to reinvent herself in college. She latches on to a group of peers, desperate to become one of them. After a disastrous night, Peyton realizes that her life is spinning out of control and decides to escape. She drops out of school, packs a backpack, and boards a plane from the U.K. to Canada without much of a plan. Peyton wants to figure out who she is—by herself. She meets a group of people in a hostel, but she’s so beat down by previous drama that she doesn’t trust her gut to travel with them at first. Alternating between the past and the present, Barnard weaves Peyton’s story together. In the time line from the past, Peyton’s story unravels—her desperation to have friends, her experiments with drugs, her meaningless sexual relationship with her boyfriend, and her sense of worthlessness. In the present-day time line, Peyton learns to trust herself and others, and slowly find her purpose. She finds friends from different backgrounds, ages, and sexual orientations, who encourage her to examine her past and discover herself, including her goal of becoming an illustrator. With strong characters against the vivid landscape of Canada, Peyton’s physical and emotional journeys will be relatable to teens. VERDICT A good coming-of-age story. Recommended for YA collections.–Jennifer Rummel, Cragin Lib., Colchester, CT

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–Making friends has never been easy for white 17-year-old Peyton. After years of being bullied, she’s more than happy to reinvent herself in college. She latches on to a group of peers, desperate to become one of them. After a disastrous night, Peyton realizes that her life is spinning out of control and decides to escape. She drops out of school, packs a backpack, and boards a plane from the U.K. to Canada without much of a plan. Peyton wants to figure out who she is—by herself. She meets a group of people in a hostel, but she’s so beat down by previous drama that she doesn’t trust her gut to travel with them at first. Alternating between the past and the present, Barnard weaves Peyton’s story together. In the time line from the past, Peyton’s story unravels—her desperation to have friends, her experiments with drugs, her meaningless sexual relationship with her boyfriend, and her sense of worthlessness. In the present-day time line, Peyton learns to trust herself and others, and slowly find her purpose. She finds friends from different backgrounds, ages, and sexual orientations, who encourage her to examine her past and discover herself, including her goal of becoming an illustrator. With strong characters against the vivid landscape of Canada, Peyton’s physical and emotional journeys will be relatable to teens. VERDICT A good coming-of-age story. Recommended for YA collections.–Jennifer Rummel, Cragin Lib., Colchester, CT

Grades 10 & Up
High-Interest High Plus
For Grades 10 & Up

These exciting, age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction titles will appeal to even the most reluctant high-school readers. With that kind of appeal, the 12 books in this category will rarely sit on the shelf.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 10 & Up
High-Interest High Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From High-Interest High Plus

Take Me Home Tonight

by Morgan Matson

High-Interest High Plus

August 2021

Kate in Waiting

by Becky Albertalli

High-Interest High Plus

July 2021

Destination Anywhere

by Sara Barnard

High-Interest High Plus

June 2021

The Project

by Courtney Summers

High-Interest High Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.