Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Secret Starling



by
Judith Eagle
illustrated by
Jo Rioux

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Candlewick
Imprint
Walker Books US
ISBN
9781536213652
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A tattered ballet slipper found under the floorboards of Braithwaite Manor may be the key to Clara’s sinister family secrets in this delightful, lightly Gothic mystery for fans of Maryrose Wood and Claire Legrand.

Clara Starling lives a life of dull rules, deadly routine, and flavorless meals under her cold uncle’s strict regime—until the day Uncle disappears, leaving Clara alone in his old mansion. When streetwise orphan Peter and his rescue cat arrive unexpectedly, the children seize the chance to live by their own rules. But when the pair’s wild romps through the halls of Braithwaite Manor reveal a single, worn ballet slipper, they are hurled into a mystery that will lead to London’s glittering Royal Opera House and the unraveling of twisted Starling family secrets of poison, passion, and murder. Diabolical villains, plucky orphans, and glamorous ballet stars populate this absorbing adventure with a classic feel.Black-and-white illustrations done in pencils and ink and rendered digitally. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

256

Trim Size

7 4/5" x 5 3/10"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2021

Book Genres

Mystery, Detective Story

Topics

Orphans and foster homes. Mansions. Family secrets. Ballet.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 2-6
Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Spine-tingling tales of suspense and adventure compose this 12 book category-filled with both fiction and nonfiction titles. Elementary readers who thrive on a thrill will really spark to these selections.

14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

Temple Alley Summer

by Sachiko Kashiwaba

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

November 2021

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

October 2021

Dark Waters

by Katherine Arden

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

October 2021

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.