Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Wolfboy



written and illustrated by
Andy Harkness

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Bloomsbu
Imprint
Bloomsbury USA
ISBN
9781547604425
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

JLG Category

Read Aloud Plus

This dynamic picture book from an award-winning art director shows how feeling hangry can turn even the sweetest kid into a Wolfboy!

Wolfboy is hungry!
He’s drooly and growly and fussy!
As he stomps through the forest looking for rabbits, he grows hungrier and growlier by the minute! What will happen if Wolfboy can’t find those rabbits? And what will happen if he does?

With bold illustrations and energetic storytelling, Wolfboy perfectly captures the big feelings that come with being very hungry! Engaging for young readers and parents, this funny and fresh picture book is perfect for fans of Grumpy Monkey and The Bad Seed and will be an instant favorite.Artwork note. Full-color illustrations created with clay, then photographed and digitally painted. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

11" x 8 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

1.9: points 0.5

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2021

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Hunger. Wolves. Rabbits. Friendship. Emotions and feelings. Frustration. Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

This quick-paced tale follows young monster Wolfboy on a journey through a moonlit forest in search of rabbits, for what must surely be a nefarious purpose. Humorous tension builds with each page-turn as Wolfboy continually overlooks the (not-so-hidden) creatures. The increasingly agitated little beast (“He was HUNGRY and HUFFY and DROOLY and GROWLY and FUSSY”) finally throws a fit, prompting the rabbits to reveal themselves. A reassuring twist reveals that Wolfboy is in fact upset because they are late for their feast—as opposed to being the feast themselves. All is well after the cottontailed critters share a moonberry pie with the hangry Wolfboy. Packed with descriptive language, punchy short sentences, and a deliciously menacing refrain (“Rabbits, rabbits! Where are you?”), the text is tailor-made to be read aloud; however, the book’s illustrations, made entirely of hand-molded clay textured with wooden tools, steal the show. Harkness creates an immersive environment through an impressive range of perspectives, dramatic lighting, and a skillfully employed color palette. The majority of the environment is in brown hues punctuated with white, successfully portraying a nocturnal setting while also allowing full-color characters (particularly the Cookie Monster–blue Wolfboy) to pop. The hand of the artist is evident throughout the pictures, including countless thumbprints and smears, effectively celebrating the tactile nature of the medium. A simultaneously funny and relatable portrayal of big feelings, splendidly executed in clay and light. PATRICK GALL

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

This quick-paced tale follows young monster Wolfboy on a journey through a moonlit forest in search of rabbits, for what must surely be a nefarious purpose. Humorous tension builds with each page-turn as Wolfboy continually overlooks the (not-so-hidden) creatures. The increasingly agitated little beast (“He was HUNGRY and HUFFY and DROOLY and GROWLY and FUSSY”) finally throws a fit, prompting the rabbits to reveal themselves. A reassuring twist reveals that Wolfboy is in fact upset because they are late for their feast—as opposed to being the feast themselves. All is well after the cottontailed critters share a moonberry pie with the hangry Wolfboy. Packed with descriptive language, punchy short sentences, and a deliciously menacing refrain (“Rabbits, rabbits! Where are you?”), the text is tailor-made to be read aloud; however, the book’s illustrations, made entirely of hand-molded clay textured with wooden tools, steal the show. Harkness creates an immersive environment through an impressive range of perspectives, dramatic lighting, and a skillfully employed color palette. The majority of the environment is in brown hues punctuated with white, successfully portraying a nocturnal setting while also allowing full-color characters (particularly the Cookie Monster–blue Wolfboy) to pop. The hand of the artist is evident throughout the pictures, including countless thumbprints and smears, effectively celebrating the tactile nature of the medium. A simultaneously funny and relatable portrayal of big feelings, splendidly executed in clay and light. PATRICK GALL

Grades PreK-2
Read Aloud Plus
For Grades PreK-2

Gather an audience and prepare for fun! The books in this 14 book category beg to be shared.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Beginning Readers,Fiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades PreK-2
Read Aloud Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Read Aloud Plus

Read Aloud Plus

August 2021

If I Were a Tree

by Andrea Zimmerman

Read Aloud Plus

July 2021

Read Aloud Plus

June 2021

Read Aloud Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.