A Room Away From the Wolves

By: Nova Ren Suma

Sabina flees danger at home and arrives at Catherine House, a residence for girls seeking shelter. But bizarre boarders and nightmarish incidents make her doubt her sanity and safety.

ISBN: 9781616203733

JLG Release: Oct 2018


Sensitive Areas: Drugs, Marijuana, Underage drinking, Physical abuse
Topics: Stepfamilies , Boarding houses , Runaways , New York City , Memories , Coming of age

$17.30  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Mystery High Plus

Grades 9 & Up

14 titles/year

$249.90/year

Awards & Honors

NPR’s Book Concierge - 2018
School Library Journal Best Books - 2018

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal*, Booklist, The Horn Book Magazine, Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

School Library Journal

A gorgeously written and evocative ghost tale set in a storied boardinghouse for troubled young women. Seventeen-year-old Sabina Tremper and her mother have always been thick as thieves, embarking on bold adventures, including running away from their first home. However, after Bina gets caught in a series of lies and destructive behavior, their bon A gorgeously written and evocative ghost tale set in a storied boardinghouse for troubled young women. Seventeen-year-old Sabina Tremper and her mother have always been thick as thieves, embarking on bold adventures, including running away from their first home. However, after Bina gets caught in a series of lies and destructive behavior, their bond becomes strained. When her mother decides to send her away for the summer to ease tensions with her new husband and teenage stepdaughters, Bina feels betrayed. She takes all the cash she can find and steals off into the night. Her plan is to go to New York City and rent a room at Catherine House, just as her mother did the summer before she was born. In this lost-in-time house of secrets, Bina discovers a safe haven to confront her personal demons, some mysterious and powerful talismans from the past, and a kindred spirit whom she can trust. The teen soon realizes that once a young woman takes up residence, she cannot leave Catherine House. Suma is a masterly storyteller, here creating a thoroughly unreliable modern narrator in a deliciously creepy Gothic haunt. VERDICT With much to mull over and discuss, this is a taut and nuanced coming-of-age tale perfect for fans of E. Lockhart’s When We Were Liars and Meg Wolitzer’s Belzhar.–Luann Toth, School Library Journal

Horn Book

Seventeen-year-old Bina Tremper (a self-confessed liar) has decided to run away. Sick of her mother’s distrust and her stepsisters’ bullying, she heads for Manhattan’s West Village to stay in the same women-only boardinghouse where her mother had roomed eighteen years earlier. All Bina wants is peace, independence, and maybe a bookstore job. Seventeen-year-old Bina Tremper (a self-confessed liar) has decided to run away. Sick of her mother’s distrust and her stepsisters’ bullying, she heads for Manhattan’s West Village to stay in the same women-only boardinghouse where her mother had roomed eighteen years earlier. All Bina wants is peace, independence, and maybe a bookstore job. But once she enters Catherine House, she is confronted with ghosts both real and imagined. Catherine de Barra, the house’s dead matriarch, appears to watch from her photo on the wall; Bina sees empty rocking chairs rock and smells phantom odors; and all the other young women, except her enigmatic neighbor Monet, seem to have sprung from a different time and place. What is the true nature of Catherine House, and is Bina as safe there as she had hoped to be? Suma’s (The Walls Around Us, rev. 3/15) latest gothic chiller contains all the components her fans have come to expect: an unreliable narrator; a haunted space; fraught, complicated female relationships; and a deliciously dark, moody atmosphere delivered in lyrical and evocative prose. Nothing Bina says can be trusted, so readers may occasionally find themselves lost in a muddle of duplicitous foreshadowing and dead-end clues. But those who persist will eventually be rewarded with an eerie reveal that folds gracefully into a sweetly melancholic resolution. jennifer hubert swan

Book Details

ISBN

9781616203733

First Release

October 2018

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

304

Accelerated Reader

Level 5.3; Points: 12;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 5.2; Points: 19;

Lexile

Level 790L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Algonquin

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Drugs, Marijuana, Underage drinking, Physical abuse.

Topics

Stepfamilies, Boarding houses, Runaways, New York City, Memories, Coming of age,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Mystery High Plus

Missing, Presumed Dead

by Emma Berquist

Mystery High Plus

$17.85

The Things She's Seen

by Ambelin Kwaymullina

Mystery High Plus

$17.85

Let Me Hear a Rhyme

by Tiffany Jackson

Mystery High Plus

$17.85

The Missing Season

by Gillian French

Mystery High Plus

$17.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.