Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Room Away From the Wolves



by
Nova Ren Suma

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Workman Publishing
Imprint
Algonquin
ISBN
9781616203733

Awards and Honors
NPR’s Book Concierge - 2018
School Library Journal Best Books - 2018
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Marijuana Use, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use, Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse
$7.20   $6.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

JLG Category

Mystery High Plus

Sabina flees danger at home and arrives at Catherine House, a residence for girls seeking shelter. But bizarre boarders and nightmarish incidents make her doubt her sanity and safety.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Drug Use/Abuse, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Marijuana Use, Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use, Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.3: points 12

Lexile

790L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

19

JLG Release

Oct 2018

Book Genres


Topics

Stepfamilies. Boarding houses. Runaways. New York City. Memories. Coming of age.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal*, Booklist, The Horn Book Magazine, Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

School Library Journal

A gorgeously written and evocative ghost tale set in a storied boardinghouse for troubled young women. Seventeen-year-old Sabina Tremper and her mother have always been thick as thieves, embarking on bold adventures, including running away from their first home. However, after Bina gets caught in a series of lies and destructive behavior, their bond becomes strained. When her mother decides to send her away for the summer to ease tensions with her new husband and teenage stepdaughters, Bina feels betrayed. She takes all the cash she can find and steals off into the night. Her plan is to go to New York City and rent a room at Catherine House, just as her mother did the summer before she was born. In this lost-in-time house of secrets, Bina discovers a safe haven to confront her personal demons, some mysterious and powerful talismans from the past, and a kindred spirit whom she can trust. The teen soon realizes that once a young woman takes up residence, she cannot leave Catherine House. Suma is a masterly storyteller, here creating a thoroughly unreliable modern narrator in a deliciously creepy Gothic haunt. VERDICT With much to mull over and discuss, this is a taut and nuanced coming-of-age tale perfect for fans of E. Lockhart’s When We Were Liars and Meg Wolitzer’s Belzhar.–Luann Toth, School Library Journal

Horn Book

Seventeen-year-old Bina Tremper (a self-confessed liar) has decided to run away. Sick of her mother’s distrust and her stepsisters’ bullying, she heads for Manhattan’s West Village to stay in the same women-only boardinghouse where her mother had roomed eighteen years earlier. All Bina wants is peace, independence, and maybe a bookstore job. But once she enters Catherine House, she is confronted with ghosts both real and imagined. Catherine de Barra, the house’s dead matriarch, appears to watch from her photo on the wall; Bina sees empty rocking chairs rock and smells phantom odors; and all the other young women, except her enigmatic neighbor Monet, seem to have sprung from a different time and place. What is the true nature of Catherine House, and is Bina as safe there as she had hoped to be? Suma’s (The Walls Around Us, rev. 3/15) latest gothic chiller contains all the components her fans have come to expect: an unreliable narrator; a haunted space; fraught, complicated female relationships; and a deliciously dark, moody atmosphere delivered in lyrical and evocative prose. Nothing Bina says can be trusted, so readers may occasionally find themselves lost in a muddle of duplicitous foreshadowing and dead-end clues. But those who persist will eventually be rewarded with an eerie reveal that folds gracefully into a sweetly melancholic resolution. jennifer hubert swan

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

A gorgeously written and evocative ghost tale set in a storied boardinghouse for troubled young women. Seventeen-year-old Sabina Tremper and her mother have always been thick as thieves, embarking on bold adventures, including running away from their first home. However, after Bina gets caught in a series of lies and destructive behavior, their bond becomes strained. When her mother decides to send her away for the summer to ease tensions with her new husband and teenage stepdaughters, Bina feels betrayed. She takes all the cash she can find and steals off into the night. Her plan is to go to New York City and rent a room at Catherine House, just as her mother did the summer before she was born. In this lost-in-time house of secrets, Bina discovers a safe haven to confront her personal demons, some mysterious and powerful talismans from the past, and a kindred spirit whom she can trust. The teen soon realizes that once a young woman takes up residence, she cannot leave Catherine House. Suma is a masterly storyteller, here creating a thoroughly unreliable modern narrator in a deliciously creepy Gothic haunt. VERDICT With much to mull over and discuss, this is a taut and nuanced coming-of-age tale perfect for fans of E. Lockhart’s When We Were Liars and Meg Wolitzer’s Belzhar.–Luann Toth, School Library Journal

Horn Book

Seventeen-year-old Bina Tremper (a self-confessed liar) has decided to run away. Sick of her mother’s distrust and her stepsisters’ bullying, she heads for Manhattan’s West Village to stay in the same women-only boardinghouse where her mother had roomed eighteen years earlier. All Bina wants is peace, independence, and maybe a bookstore job. But once she enters Catherine House, she is confronted with ghosts both real and imagined. Catherine de Barra, the house’s dead matriarch, appears to watch from her photo on the wall; Bina sees empty rocking chairs rock and smells phantom odors; and all the other young women, except her enigmatic neighbor Monet, seem to have sprung from a different time and place. What is the true nature of Catherine House, and is Bina as safe there as she had hoped to be? Suma’s (The Walls Around Us, rev. 3/15) latest gothic chiller contains all the components her fans have come to expect: an unreliable narrator; a haunted space; fraught, complicated female relationships; and a deliciously dark, moody atmosphere delivered in lyrical and evocative prose. Nothing Bina says can be trusted, so readers may occasionally find themselves lost in a muddle of duplicitous foreshadowing and dead-end clues. But those who persist will eventually be rewarded with an eerie reveal that folds gracefully into a sweetly melancholic resolution. jennifer hubert swan

Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up
If your high school readers love a spellbinding adventure story or a riveting mystery, our MH Category is the ticket. This category contains 12 gripping fiction and nonfiction titles per year, ensuring that new adventures will keep on coming.

14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year
Interests
Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Mystery High Plus
14 books per Year
$249.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery High Plus

The Silver Blonde

by Elizabeth Ross

Mystery High Plus

December 2021

Mystery High Plus

November 2021
Out of stock

The Box in the Woods

by Maureen Johnson

Mystery High Plus

October 2021

Ace of Spades

by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Mystery High Plus

October 2021
Out of stock
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.