Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Miosotis Flores Never Forgets



by
Hilda Eunice Burgos

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Lee & Low Books
Imprint
Tu Books
ISBN
9781643790657
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexuality , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Perfect for fans of Meg Medina and Barbara O'Connor, this heartfelt novel about family, pets, and other things we hold close is one that you'll never forget.

Miosotis Flores is excited about three things: fostering rescue dogs, goofy horror movies, and her sister Amarilis's upcoming wedding. School? Not on that list. But her papi cares about school more than anything else, so they strike a deal: If Miosotis improves her grades in two classes, she can adopt a dog of her own in the summer.

Miosotis dives into her schoolwork, and into nurturing a fearful little pup called Freckles. Could he become her forever dog? At the same time, she notices Amarilis behaving strangely--wearing thick clothes in springtime, dropping her friends in favor of her fiancé, even avoiding Miosotis and the rest of their family.

When she finally discovers her sister's secret, Miosotis faces some difficult choices. What do you do if someone is in danger, but doesn't want your help? When should you ask for support, and when should you try to handle things on your own? And what ultimately matters most--what Miosotis wants, or what's right for the ones she loves?

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Domestic/Physical Abuse , Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexuality , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

7 1/2" x 5"

Dewey

F

AR

4.1: points 10

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Family life. Families. Dating violence. Physical and emotional abuse. Dominican Americans. Sisters. Dogs. Schools. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up-Miosotis faces many social issues in her young life, including racism, physical abuse, and animal cruelty. Although each issue does not specifically touch her, she comes into contact with them through her family or at school. As a 13-year-old, Miosotis tackles each issue fervently. Her Abuela, Papi, and brother Jacinto teach her about her culture and how they have faced racism due to their Dominican background. Because she is very close to her college-age sister, Amarilis, Miosotis is able to figure out that something is not quite right between her sister and her boyfriend. Her friendly neighbors, Miss Mabel and Gina, teach her about respect and responsibility as they foster neglected pets, one of which Miosotis hopes to call her own. Her two best friends, Olivia and Zoe, are faithful companions who offer support and advice as Miosotis confronts issues that seem beyond her control. With such a tight-knit circle of friends and family, Miosotis is bound to be successful. VERDICT Readers will find a connection with Miosotis and gain insight on how to proceed in difficult social situations. Recommended for realistic fiction collections.-Martha Rico, Yselta I.S.D., TX

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up-Miosotis faces many social issues in her young life, including racism, physical abuse, and animal cruelty. Although each issue does not specifically touch her, she comes into contact with them through her family or at school. As a 13-year-old, Miosotis tackles each issue fervently. Her Abuela, Papi, and brother Jacinto teach her about her culture and how they have faced racism due to their Dominican background. Because she is very close to her college-age sister, Amarilis, Miosotis is able to figure out that something is not quite right between her sister and her boyfriend. Her friendly neighbors, Miss Mabel and Gina, teach her about respect and responsibility as they foster neglected pets, one of which Miosotis hopes to call her own. Her two best friends, Olivia and Zoe, are faithful companions who offer support and advice as Miosotis confronts issues that seem beyond her control. With such a tight-knit circle of friends and family, Miosotis is bound to be successful. VERDICT Readers will find a connection with Miosotis and gain insight on how to proceed in difficult social situations. Recommended for realistic fiction collections.-Martha Rico, Yselta I.S.D., TX

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
For Grades 5-7

A great way to ensure more titles for your middle-grade readers-with 12 additional popular B titles arriving at your door every year.

14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

The Rat Queen

by Pete Hautman

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

January 2023

The Hope of Elephants

by Amanda Rawson Hill

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

December 2022

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

November 2022

Tumble

by Celia C. Pérez

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.