Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Darkening of Dragons: Songs of Magic Book #1


Series
Songs of Magic Book

by
S. A. Patrick

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Peachtree Publishers
Imprint
Peachtree
ISBN
9781682633762
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Graphic Descriptions
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Three accidental heroes encounter one legendary villain in an epic dragon-filled adventure just right for young fans of Terry Pratchett, J.R.R. Tolkien, and How to Train Your Dragon!

13-year old piper Patch Brightwater is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one's idea of a hero. But then he discovers a deadly truth – the evil Piper of Hamelyn is on the loose.

With the help of Wren, a girl cursed to live as a rat, and Barver, a fire-breathing dracogriff, Patch must stop the Piper from sparking the biggest battle of them all.

S.A. Patrick’s debut children’s novel is a vivid retelling of one of the darkest legends of all time – the Piper of Hamelyn. Combining fairy tale lore with the very best of modern storytelling and empowerment, A Darkening of Dragons takes fantasy fans on a journey filled with adventure, magic, and the delight of finding friends in unexpected places. Perfect for fans of The Hobbit, Terry Pratchett’s Tiffany Aching books, and How to Train Your Dragon.

A Carnegie Medal nominee.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Graphic Descriptions

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

400

Trim Size

10" x 10"

Dewey

F

AR

5.2: points 13

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2022

Book Genres

Fantasy

Topics

Animals. Dragons, unicorns, and mythical.  Adaptations of “Pied Piper of Hamelin” (tale). Retellings. Fantasy and magic. Legends, myths, and fables. Blessing and cursing. Adventure and adventurers.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4–7—Patrick presents an extended version of the Pied Piper of Hamelin tale in this British series import. This version takes place 10 years after the Piper of "Hamelyn" was imprisoned by eight members of the Pipers' Council for using his pipers' training to make both children and young dragons vanish, nearly causing a war with the Dragon Territories. The past seems to be repeating itself when Patch, a disgraced student of the piping school at Tiviscan Castle, is imprisoned for 510 years after using the same dance tune to earn food and shelter. Patch finds unlikely friends in Wren, a girl who has been cursed into a rat, and the dracogriff Barver, whose impressive battle techniques help them out of numerous scrapes. Patch and his friends uncover clues to Hamelyn's motivations that lead to further adventures. Except for gender and age, no characters are given physical descriptions, including skin tones. Patrick's story is told in third-person limited, usually from Patch's point of view, but occasionally from Wren's. Patch's escapades seem to telescope one out of another, introducing more places like an abbey and a witch's hut where Hamelyn's old adversaries now dwell, and the castle where Underath the sorcerer cursed Wren. Despite the ever-expanding Piper world, the story stays focused on Patch, Wren, and Barker. VERDICT An engaging fairy-tale adventure that would pair well with Jessica Khoury's "The Mystwick School of Musicraft" series. Suitable for most libraries.—Caitlin Augusta

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4–7—Patrick presents an extended version of the Pied Piper of Hamelin tale in this British series import. This version takes place 10 years after the Piper of "Hamelyn" was imprisoned by eight members of the Pipers' Council for using his pipers' training to make both children and young dragons vanish, nearly causing a war with the Dragon Territories. The past seems to be repeating itself when Patch, a disgraced student of the piping school at Tiviscan Castle, is imprisoned for 510 years after using the same dance tune to earn food and shelter. Patch finds unlikely friends in Wren, a girl who has been cursed into a rat, and the dracogriff Barver, whose impressive battle techniques help them out of numerous scrapes. Patch and his friends uncover clues to Hamelyn's motivations that lead to further adventures. Except for gender and age, no characters are given physical descriptions, including skin tones. Patrick's story is told in third-person limited, usually from Patch's point of view, but occasionally from Wren's. Patch's escapades seem to telescope one out of another, introducing more places like an abbey and a witch's hut where Hamelyn's old adversaries now dwell, and the castle where Underath the sorcerer cursed Wren. Despite the ever-expanding Piper world, the story stays focused on Patch, Wren, and Barker. VERDICT An engaging fairy-tale adventure that would pair well with Jessica Khoury's "The Mystwick School of Musicraft" series. Suitable for most libraries.—Caitlin Augusta

Grades 5-8
Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Your middle-school readers will thrill to new futures, fantasy realms, and alternate realities. Readers will look forward to discovering a new world monthly with the 12 books in this category.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

September 2022

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

September 2022

The Prince of Nowhere

by Rochelle Hassan

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

August 2022

Fantasy/Science Fiction Middle Plus

July 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.