Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Only Good Indians



by
Stephen Graham Jones

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Imprint
Saga Press (Adult)
ISBN
9781982136451

Awards and Honors
2021 Alex Awards Winner
2020 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot
2021 Ignyte Award for Best Adult Novel Finalist
2021 This Is Horror Novel of the Year Award Finalist
2020 Bram Stoker Superior Achievement in a Novel Award Winner
2021 Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Graphic Descriptions , Language: Strong Language , Violence: Cruelty to Animals , Violence: General
$15.00   $12.50
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

A tale of revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from tradition in this latest novel from the Jordan Peele of horror literature, Stephen Graham Jones.

Seamlessly blending classic horror and a dramatic narrative with sharp social commentary, The Only Good Indians follows four American Indian men after a disturbing event from their youth puts them in a desperate struggle for their lives. Tracked by an entity bent on revenge, these childhood friends are helpless as the culture and traditions they left behind catch up to them in a violent, vengeful way.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Graphic Descriptions , Language: Strong Language , Violence: Cruelty to Animals , Violence: General

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 2/5" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2020

Book Genres

Thriller, Supernatural, Horror

Topics

Horror. Native Americans. American Indians. Blackfeet Nation (Montana). Revenge. Hunting. Elk. Murder.
 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Kirkus Reviews*, Publishers Weekly*, Library Journal*

Library Journal

One of the most anticipated horror titles of 2020, Jones’s latest does not disappoint. While fully entrenched within the genre, its well-developed cast, lyrical language, and heightened suspense will have broad appeal. Fans of Paul Tremblay, Victor LaValle, and Samanta Schweblin will be delighted.

The Horn Book

Ten years prior to the start of this story, four young Blackfeet went hunting on tribal lands normally reserved only for the elders and ended up killing a female Elk, oddly pregnant during the wrong time of year. Now, as adults with families and responsibilities, the men still carry the heavy guilt of that day, as well they should-the spirit of the Elk has been waiting to make each one of them pay the ultimate price. This classic tale of revenge horror oscillates among eerie moments, violent action, and an overarching sense of dread. With close narrations from three of the four men, one of their teen daughters, and the Elk herself, there is an intensity, a breathless desperation that lurks just under the story's surface, giving the sense that everything that is about to happen, no matter how terrible, is inevitable and cannot be stopped. It is also a heartbreakingly beautiful story about hope and survival, grappling with themes of cultural identity, family, and traditions. VERDICT One of the most anticipated horror titles of 2020, Jones's latest does not disappoint. While fully entrenched within the genre, its well-developed cast, lyrical language, and heightened suspense will have broad appeal. Fans of Paul Tremblay, Victor LaValle, and Samanta Schweblin will be delighted.

Praise & Reviews

Library Journal

One of the most anticipated horror titles of 2020, Jones’s latest does not disappoint. While fully entrenched within the genre, its well-developed cast, lyrical language, and heightened suspense will have broad appeal. Fans of Paul Tremblay, Victor LaValle, and Samanta Schweblin will be delighted.

The Horn Book

Ten years prior to the start of this story, four young Blackfeet went hunting on tribal lands normally reserved only for the elders and ended up killing a female Elk, oddly pregnant during the wrong time of year. Now, as adults with families and responsibilities, the men still carry the heavy guilt of that day, as well they should-the spirit of the Elk has been waiting to make each one of them pay the ultimate price. This classic tale of revenge horror oscillates among eerie moments, violent action, and an overarching sense of dread. With close narrations from three of the four men, one of their teen daughters, and the Elk herself, there is an intensity, a breathless desperation that lurks just under the story's surface, giving the sense that everything that is about to happen, no matter how terrible, is inevitable and cannot be stopped. It is also a heartbreakingly beautiful story about hope and survival, grappling with themes of cultural identity, family, and traditions. VERDICT One of the most anticipated horror titles of 2020, Jones's latest does not disappoint. While fully entrenched within the genre, its well-developed cast, lyrical language, and heightened suspense will have broad appeal. Fans of Paul Tremblay, Victor LaValle, and Samanta Schweblin will be delighted.

Grades 11 & Up
Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus
For Grades 11 & Up

Suspenseful fiction and nonfiction for high school readers who are ready for adult reading.
*Take note: these selections often contain mature situations and language that could be considered controversial.

14 books per Year
$309.26 per Year
Interests
Fiction,Mature Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 11 & Up
Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus
14 books per Year
$309.26 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

The Atlas Paradox

by Olivie Blake

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

January 2023

Leech

by Hiron Ennes

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

December 2022

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

November 2022

The Book Eaters

by Sunyi Dean

Adult Crossover Thrillers Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.