Loading...
Ultraviolet

By Aida Salazar
Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher Scholastic Imprint Scholastic Press ISBN

9781338775655

Ultraviolet

load
SKU
9781338775655J
Sometimes life explodes in technicolor.



In the spirit of Judy Blume, award-winning author Aida Salazar tells it like it is about puberty, hormones, and first love in this hilarious, heartwarming, and highly relatable coming-of-age story. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Kwame Alexander, and Adib Khorram.




* "Stunning…A story that sings to the soul." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review



* “Salazar writes from a place of abundant empathy. . . . Another heartfelt and accessible tale of growing up from one of the best in modern children’s literature.” —School Library Journal, starred review



For Elio Solis, eighth grade fizzes with change—His body teeming with hormones. His feelings that flow like lava. His relationship with Pops, who’s always telling him to man up, the Solis way. And especially Camelia, his first girlfriend.



But then, betrayal and heartbreak send Elio spiraling toward revenge, a fight to prove his manhood, and defend Camelia’s honor. He doesn’t anticipate the dire consequences—or that Camelia’s not looking for a savior.



Ultraviolet digs deep into themes of consent, puberty, masculinity, and the emotional lives of boys, as it challenges stereotypes and offers another way to be in the world.
More Information

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Advanced Readers Plus (Grades 6-9)

Advanced Readers Plus

Advanced Readers Plus (Grades 6-9)

For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 14 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests

Diversity, Fiction, High Interest/Reluctant Reader, Struggling Readers, Novels, Funny/Humorous, Realistic Fiction

Like this book? Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE