Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Long Lost



by
Jacqueline West

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780062691750
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared. New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and century-spanning tale.

Eleven-year-old Fiona has just read a book that doesn’t exist.

When Fiona’s family moves to a new town to be closer to her older sister’s figure skating club—and far from Fiona’s close-knit group of friends—nobody seems to notice Fiona’s unhappiness. Alone and out of place, Fiona ventures to the town’s library, a rambling mansion donated to the town by a long-dead heiress. And there she finds a gripping mystery novel about a small town, family secrets, and a tragic disappearance.

Soon Fiona begins to notice strange similarities that blur the lines between the novel and her new town. And when she looks for the book again, it’s gone. Almost as though it never existed. With stubbornness and a little help from a few odd Lost Lake locals, Fiona uncovers the book’s strange history. It’s not a novel, but a true story filled with clues to an unsolved century-old crime. Lost Lake is a town of restless spirits, and Fiona will learn that both help and danger come from unexpected places—maybe even from the sister she thinks doesn’t care about her anymore.

New York Times–bestselling and acclaimed author Jacqueline West weaves a heart-pounding, intense, and imaginative mystery that builds anticipation on every page, while centering on the strong and often tumultuous bond between sisters. Laced with suspense, Long Lost will fascinate readers of Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Secret Keepers and fans of ghost stories.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

288

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jul 2021

Book Genres

Mystery, Supernatural

Topics

Sisters. Books and reading. Guilt. Supernatural. Libraries. Family life. Siblings.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-9–Fiona’s family has just picked up and moved across Massachusetts to the sleepy town of Lost Lake, all because of her sister Arden and her figure skating. Fiona cannot help feeling slighted at having to leave everything behind just so they can be closer to Arden’s practice rink. When the opportunity arises, Fiona chooses to explore the town library rather than watching skating practice. Deep in the mystery room, Fiona finds a book on the shelf that does not appear to belong to the library. Intrigued, she begins reading and is drawn immediately into The Lost One: the story of Hazel and Pearl and the mystery of how one of them disappeared. This book is a captivating narrative that draws the reader into two stories of two sisters living over a century apart. The stories of Fiona and Arden, and of Hazel and Pearl, parallel each other as both sets of siblings drift apart. Ultimately, Hazel goes missing, and that is where the mystery begins: What happened all those years ago? Fiona is determined to find out. The story breaks frame when the worlds of Fiona and Arden and Hazel and Pearl collide in a supernatural twist that will test the bond of sisterhood. Fiona and Arden have dark hair and brown eyes, but there are no explicit references to their ethnicity or race beyond this detail. VERDICT A spooky sisterhood mystery that is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy titles such as Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces, Ellen Oh’s Spirit Hunters, or Lindsay Currie’s Scritch Scratch.–Jessica Caron, Bancroft Sch., MA

Horn Book

Eleven-year-old Fiona blames her older sister Arden for their family’s move to the “quaint” (fictional) Massachusetts town of Lost Lake. Arden, thirteen, is a successful figure skater, and Fiona feels that her parents value her sister more than her. Finding solace in the town’s library, Fiona discovers a mysterious book called The Lost One that tells the story of two sisters from that very town, one of whom disappeared a hundred years ago. The Lost One refuses to stay put, despite Fiona’s best efforts, and it routinely disappears from her possession, only to show up at the library again. Together with a boy from Lost Lake, Fiona investigates the history of the two sisters and the legend of the fearsome Searcher that is said to snatch children from the town’s woods. What starts as rather a cozy mystery—small town, quirky librarian, strange book—builds up to a spooky denouement with brief but very real peril the intrepid youngsters must face. While the shift in tone from the main text to passages of The Lost One feel jarring at first, the two stories blend together nicely by the end, and readers will be eager to learn the fates of both pairs of sisters. The realistic and picturesque details of Lost Lake capture small-town New England perfectly—but with sinister history lurking behind every old landmark. SARAH A. BERMAN

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 4-9–Fiona’s family has just picked up and moved across Massachusetts to the sleepy town of Lost Lake, all because of her sister Arden and her figure skating. Fiona cannot help feeling slighted at having to leave everything behind just so they can be closer to Arden’s practice rink. When the opportunity arises, Fiona chooses to explore the town library rather than watching skating practice. Deep in the mystery room, Fiona finds a book on the shelf that does not appear to belong to the library. Intrigued, she begins reading and is drawn immediately into The Lost One: the story of Hazel and Pearl and the mystery of how one of them disappeared. This book is a captivating narrative that draws the reader into two stories of two sisters living over a century apart. The stories of Fiona and Arden, and of Hazel and Pearl, parallel each other as both sets of siblings drift apart. Ultimately, Hazel goes missing, and that is where the mystery begins: What happened all those years ago? Fiona is determined to find out. The story breaks frame when the worlds of Fiona and Arden and Hazel and Pearl collide in a supernatural twist that will test the bond of sisterhood. Fiona and Arden have dark hair and brown eyes, but there are no explicit references to their ethnicity or race beyond this detail. VERDICT A spooky sisterhood mystery that is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy titles such as Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces, Ellen Oh’s Spirit Hunters, or Lindsay Currie’s Scritch Scratch.–Jessica Caron, Bancroft Sch., MA

Horn Book

Eleven-year-old Fiona blames her older sister Arden for their family’s move to the “quaint” (fictional) Massachusetts town of Lost Lake. Arden, thirteen, is a successful figure skater, and Fiona feels that her parents value her sister more than her. Finding solace in the town’s library, Fiona discovers a mysterious book called The Lost One that tells the story of two sisters from that very town, one of whom disappeared a hundred years ago. The Lost One refuses to stay put, despite Fiona’s best efforts, and it routinely disappears from her possession, only to show up at the library again. Together with a boy from Lost Lake, Fiona investigates the history of the two sisters and the legend of the fearsome Searcher that is said to snatch children from the town’s woods. What starts as rather a cozy mystery—small town, quirky librarian, strange book—builds up to a spooky denouement with brief but very real peril the intrepid youngsters must face. While the shift in tone from the main text to passages of The Lost One feel jarring at first, the two stories blend together nicely by the end, and readers will be eager to learn the fates of both pairs of sisters. The realistic and picturesque details of Lost Lake capture small-town New England perfectly—but with sinister history lurking behind every old landmark. SARAH A. BERMAN

Grades 2-6
Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Spine-tingling tales of suspense and adventure compose this 12 book category-filled with both fiction and nonfiction titles. Elementary readers who thrive on a thrill will really spark to these selections.

14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

September 2021

The Secret Starling

by Judith Eagle

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

September 2021

The Case of the Burgled Bundle

by Michael Hutchinson

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

August 2021

Long Lost

by Jacqueline West

Mystery/Adventure Elementary Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.