Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

From the Desk of Zoe Washington



by
Janae Marks

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Katherine Tegen
ISBN
9780062875853

Awards and Honors
2021 Edgar Award Nominee, Best Juvenile
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Dear Marcus…

Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write next. What does a girl say to the father she’s never met, she hadn’t heard from until his letter arrived on her twelfth birthday, and who’s been in prison for a terrible crime? A crime he says he never committed. Could Marcus really be innocent? Zoe’s determined to uncover the truth. Even if it means hiding his letters from her mom and stepdad.

Everyone thinks Zoe’s worrying about doing a good job at her bakery internship and proving to her parents that she’s worthy of auditioning for Food Network’s Kids Bake Challenge! It’s Zoe’s dream to become a star baker, and she can’t afford to mess anything up. But with bakery confections on one part of her mind and Marcus’s conviction weighing heavily on the other, this is one recipe Zoe doesn’t know how to balance. The only thing she knows to be true: everyone lies.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.4: points 8

Lexile

660L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2020

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Fathers and daughters. Prisoners’ families. Bakers and bakeries. Family life. African Americans. Prison.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Publishers Weekly*, Booklist*, School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

On her 12th birthday, Zoe Washington receives a letter from her birth father, Marcus, who has been in prison her entire life. He wants to get to know her, and even though she knows her mom won’t like it, she writes back. In their letters they bond over a shared love of baking—Zoe is interning at a Boston-area bakery over the summer and dreams of becoming a pastry chef—and music. When Marcus dodges Zoe’s questions about the crime he committed, she Googles him and is horrified to discover that he was accused of murdering a college classmate. But Marcus also claims he’s innocent and that there’s even a witness out there who could prove it. Zoe doesn’t know what to believe—can innocent people really go to prison? In the course of researching wrongful convictions, she learns about racial bias in the prison system (Zoe and her biological parents are black, a stepfather is white) and decides to search for the alibi witness herself, even though Marcus doesn’t want her to get involved. But keeping secrets from her mom quickly gets Zoe in over her head, jeopardizing her chances of obtaining the information she needs to save Marcus. This is one of only a small handful of middle grade novels to explore the experience of having a parent in prison, and the subject is handled with grace and sensitivity. It also exposes the important and timely issue of racial bias in the prison system in a way that is approachable to a middle grade audience. Zoe is a bright, compassionate protagonist for whom readers will root. She is supported by a loving family whose viewpoints differ yet who all want the best for her. The baking subplot will have readers itching to try out Zoe’s recipes. A smart, necessary, and hopeful middle grade debut that expertly balances a gentle, heartwarming tone with searing insight into systemic racism. Hand to readers who enjoyed Lisa Ramee’s A Good Kind of Trouble or Kekla Magoon’s The Season of Styx Malone.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

On her 12th birthday, Zoe Washington receives a letter from her birth father, Marcus, who has been in prison her entire life. He wants to get to know her, and even though she knows her mom won’t like it, she writes back. In their letters they bond over a shared love of baking—Zoe is interning at a Boston-area bakery over the summer and dreams of becoming a pastry chef—and music. When Marcus dodges Zoe’s questions about the crime he committed, she Googles him and is horrified to discover that he was accused of murdering a college classmate. But Marcus also claims he’s innocent and that there’s even a witness out there who could prove it. Zoe doesn’t know what to believe—can innocent people really go to prison? In the course of researching wrongful convictions, she learns about racial bias in the prison system (Zoe and her biological parents are black, a stepfather is white) and decides to search for the alibi witness herself, even though Marcus doesn’t want her to get involved. But keeping secrets from her mom quickly gets Zoe in over her head, jeopardizing her chances of obtaining the information she needs to save Marcus. This is one of only a small handful of middle grade novels to explore the experience of having a parent in prison, and the subject is handled with grace and sensitivity. It also exposes the important and timely issue of racial bias in the prison system in a way that is approachable to a middle grade audience. Zoe is a bright, compassionate protagonist for whom readers will root. She is supported by a loving family whose viewpoints differ yet who all want the best for her. The baking subplot will have readers itching to try out Zoe’s recipes. A smart, necessary, and hopeful middle grade debut that expertly balances a gentle, heartwarming tone with searing insight into systemic racism. Hand to readers who enjoyed Lisa Ramee’s A Good Kind of Trouble or Kekla Magoon’s The Season of Styx Malone.

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
For Grades 5-7

A great way to ensure more titles for your middle-grade readers-with 12 additional popular B titles arriving at your door every year.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

Hollow Chest

by Brita Sandstrom

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

September 2021

Not All Heroes

by Josephine Cameron

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

September 2021

One Small Hop

by Madelyn Rosenberg

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

August 2021

Where We Used to Roam

by Jenn Bishop

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

July 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.