Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Spoonful of Frogs



by
Casey Lyall
illustrated by
Vera Brosgol

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Greenwillow Bks.
ISBN
9780062890290
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$21.52   $17.93
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Primary Plus

Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom.

A witch’s favorite treat is frog soup. Luckily, it’s healthy and easy to make. To give it that extra kick and a pop of color, the key ingredient is a spoonful of frogs. But how do you keep the frogs on the spoon? They hop, they leap, they hide . . . and they escape. What is a poor witch to do?

Casey Lyall is a master of comedic timing with her deceptively simple and energetic text. The solution to the witch’s dilemma will surprise and delight young readers and their parents alike. Caldecott Honoree Vera Brosgol’s vibrant, hilarious illustrations make the witch—and the frogs!—practically leap off the page. Teeming with laugher and hijinks, A Spoonful of Frogs is pure fun from beginning to end. A must-have for young readers, parents, witches, frog-lovers, and aspiring chefs.

Full-color illustrations were created digitally, using Procreate. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

11" x 8 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

1.7: points 0.5

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2022

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Frogs. Witches. Cooking. Humorous stories. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1-A very pale, red-nosed witch, clad in burgundy rather than the traditional black, hosts her TV show entitled "Bewitching Kitchen." Today's episode involves a demonstration on how to make Frog Soup. Step by step she takes "viewers" through the recipe from placing the cauldron on the fire to attempting to put a frog on a spoon in order to add it to the pot for "a kick of flavor and a pop of color." At this point in the story, which is told in absolute deadpan but with an underlying and expanding sense of mischief, children will begin laughing at the antics of the poor witch as she attempts to complete the recipe for her audience. Expecting the frog to stay on the spoon is her undoing as she tries to remain professional and keep her cool. Brosgol's engaging digital illustrations show a fitted-out kitchen with a large stove, hanging pots, drying herbs and jars of unspecified and indeterminate contents. The army of frogs the pink-aproned witch keeps in an aquarium are full of energy and bounce and, though they are trying the woman's patience, their faces remain serenely calm and innocent. VERDICT This entertaining tale is a humorous look at how well-laid plans can sometimes go awry, and it will tickle children's silly bones.-Maryann H. Owen

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1-A very pale, red-nosed witch, clad in burgundy rather than the traditional black, hosts her TV show entitled "Bewitching Kitchen." Today's episode involves a demonstration on how to make Frog Soup. Step by step she takes "viewers" through the recipe from placing the cauldron on the fire to attempting to put a frog on a spoon in order to add it to the pot for "a kick of flavor and a pop of color." At this point in the story, which is told in absolute deadpan but with an underlying and expanding sense of mischief, children will begin laughing at the antics of the poor witch as she attempts to complete the recipe for her audience. Expecting the frog to stay on the spoon is her undoing as she tries to remain professional and keep her cool. Brosgol's engaging digital illustrations show a fitted-out kitchen with a large stove, hanging pots, drying herbs and jars of unspecified and indeterminate contents. The army of frogs the pink-aproned witch keeps in an aquarium are full of energy and bounce and, though they are trying the woman's patience, their faces remain serenely calm and innocent. VERDICT This entertaining tale is a humorous look at how well-laid plans can sometimes go awry, and it will tickle children's silly bones.-Maryann H. Owen

Grades K-1
Primary Plus
For Grades K-1

Our Primary level is filled with so many great books, it wasn't possible to offer just 12 selections a year. Our P+ category makes a great thing even better-bringing you 14 additional titles for the same reading level.

14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year
Interests
Beginning Readers,Fiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades K-1
Primary Plus
14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Primary Plus

Primary Plus

January 2023

Mariana and Her Familia

by Mónica Mancillas

Primary Plus

December 2022

Farmhouse

by Sophie Blackall

Primary Plus

November 2022

Primary Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.