Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Just Harriet



by
Elana K. Arnold
illustrated by
Dung Ho

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
Walden Pond Press
ISBN
9780063092044
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

From the award-winning author of A Boy Called Bat comes a new young middle grade series in the tradition of Ramona and Clementine, starring an unforgettable girl named Harriet.

There are a few things you should know about Harriet Wermer:
- She just finished third grade.
- She has a perfect cat named Matzo Ball.
- She doesn’t always tell the truth.
- She is very happy to be spending summer vacation away from home and her mom and dad and all the wonderful things she had been planning all year.

Okay, maybe that last one isn’t entirely the truth.

Of course, there’s nothing Harriet doesn't like about Marble Island, the small island off the coast of California where her nanu runs a cozy little bed and breakfast. And nobody doesn’t love Moneypenny, Nanu’s old basset hound. But Harriet doesn’t like the fact that Dad made this decision without even asking her.

When Harriet arrives on Marble Island, however, she discovers that it's full of surprises, and even a mystery.  One that seems to involve her Dad, back when he was a young boy living on Marble Island.  One that Harriet is absolutely going to solve.

And that’s the truth.

Black-and-white illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

208

Trim Size

7 4/5" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.9: points 4

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2022

Book Genres

Chapter Book, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Grandmothers. Family life. Summer vacations. Mystery and detective stories Bed and breakfasts. Hotels. Islands. Anxiety. Emotions. Cats. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 2-4-On the last day of third grade, Harriet's pregnant mother is put on strict bed rest until the baby comes-which isn't supposed to happen until August. This, coupled with her father's busy work schedule, is the reason why Harriet is shipped off to her grandmother's bed-and-breakfast on Marble Island for the entire summer. As much as Harriet loves the island and her Nanu, she is understandably angry at the situation and struggles to adapt. Her first-person narration showcases her conflicting actions as she tries to understand her complex and deep emotions. She also searches for a treasure her father mentioned, discovering facts about his childhood and realizing that there is more to him than she thought. Frequent black-and-white illustrations depict characters as white. Harriet is cued as Jewish. The slow, leisurely pace of Harriet's adventures, as well as her significant emotional growth in making peace with her situation and father, will have readers thinking a whole summer has passed, but the book spans less than two weeks. VERDICT A gentle, slow-moving summer adventure that's big on character growth; a sweet additional purchase.-Jennifer Rothschild

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 2-4-On the last day of third grade, Harriet's pregnant mother is put on strict bed rest until the baby comes-which isn't supposed to happen until August. This, coupled with her father's busy work schedule, is the reason why Harriet is shipped off to her grandmother's bed-and-breakfast on Marble Island for the entire summer. As much as Harriet loves the island and her Nanu, she is understandably angry at the situation and struggles to adapt. Her first-person narration showcases her conflicting actions as she tries to understand her complex and deep emotions. She also searches for a treasure her father mentioned, discovering facts about his childhood and realizing that there is more to him than she thought. Frequent black-and-white illustrations depict characters as white. Harriet is cued as Jewish. The slow, leisurely pace of Harriet's adventures, as well as her significant emotional growth in making peace with her situation and father, will have readers thinking a whole summer has passed, but the book spans less than two weeks. VERDICT A gentle, slow-moving summer adventure that's big on character growth; a sweet additional purchase.-Jennifer Rothschild

Grades 2-4
Independent Readers
For Grades 2-4

Children who can read on their own will love this category. The 12 books per year you get in this category range from picture books to early chapter books. Many of these compelling fiction and nonfiction titles feature large print and eye-catching artwork.

12 books per Year
$221.52 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-4
Independent Readers
12 books per Year
$221.52 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Independent Readers

Izzy's Tail of Trouble

by Caroline Adderson

Independent Readers

January 2023

Surely Surely Marisol Rainey

by Erin Entrada Kelly

Independent Readers

December 2022

Independent Readers

November 2022

Independent Readers

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.