Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy



by
Michael Leali

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
HarperCollins
ISBN
9780063119864
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexism , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion , Discrimination: Sexuality , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A heartfelt part-epistolary middle grade debut about one boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves—perfect for fans of Alex Gino and Julie Murphy.

Amos Abernathy has been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history. Someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Union soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first-century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and queer community will delight readers who loved The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy or Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World by Ashley Herring Blake.

Author’s note, with photographs. Suggested resources.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexism , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion , Discrimination: Sexuality , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.7: points 9

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Letters. Gay people. Historical reenactments. Nineteenth-century life. LGBTQ. Friendship. Activism. Schools. Epistolary books.

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up-A well-written coming-of-age novel that encompasses many valuable topics-discrimination, teen relationships, friendship, the LGBTQIA+ community, and underrepresented history into one wonderful story. Amos, who is white, volunteers as a reenactor at the Living History Park along with his best friend, Chloe, who is Black. There they meet Ben, who becomes a fast friend to the duo and a burgeoning romanntic interest for Amos. But their relationship faces some challenges, including Ben's religious family. Amos tells his story from his own point of view interspersed with letters to Albert D.J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who, in the present day, might have identified as a trans man. Amos learns about Albert while he is researching LBGTQIA+ Americans throughout history, seeking representation of people like him from the past and hoping to win the Living History Park's exhibition competition. Readers will feel the tension as Amos and his friends fight discrimination to bring the project to fruition. Leali's character development is superb. The story begins in the present day, but readers learn of the events of the past year in Amos's commentary as well as his notes to Albert, which then converge again in the present. While this technique is insightful, the time shifts may prove slightly confusing to some readers. VERDICT Overall, an entertaining and engaging read with diverse characters and subject matter. A necesary addition to all collections seeking heartwarming tales of first crushes, and the importance of centering marginalized history.-April Crowder

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up-A well-written coming-of-age novel that encompasses many valuable topics-discrimination, teen relationships, friendship, the LGBTQIA+ community, and underrepresented history into one wonderful story. Amos, who is white, volunteers as a reenactor at the Living History Park along with his best friend, Chloe, who is Black. There they meet Ben, who becomes a fast friend to the duo and a burgeoning romanntic interest for Amos. But their relationship faces some challenges, including Ben's religious family. Amos tells his story from his own point of view interspersed with letters to Albert D.J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who, in the present day, might have identified as a trans man. Amos learns about Albert while he is researching LBGTQIA+ Americans throughout history, seeking representation of people like him from the past and hoping to win the Living History Park's exhibition competition. Readers will feel the tension as Amos and his friends fight discrimination to bring the project to fruition. Leali's character development is superb. The story begins in the present day, but readers learn of the events of the past year in Amos's commentary as well as his notes to Albert, which then converge again in the present. While this technique is insightful, the time shifts may prove slightly confusing to some readers. VERDICT Overall, an entertaining and engaging read with diverse characters and subject matter. A necesary addition to all collections seeking heartwarming tales of first crushes, and the importance of centering marginalized history.-April Crowder

Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 12 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

Bhai for Now

by Maleeha Siddiqui

Advanced Readers Plus

December 2022

Holler of the Fireflies

by David Barclay Moore

Advanced Readers Plus

November 2022

Moonflower

by Kacen Callender

Advanced Readers Plus

October 2022

Dragonfly Eyes

by Cao Wenxuan

Advanced Readers Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.