Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy



by
Michael Leali

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
HarperCollins
Imprint
HarperCollins
ISBN
9780063119864
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexism , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion , Discrimination: Sexuality , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A heartfelt part-epistolary middle grade debut about one boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves—perfect for fans of Alex Gino and Julie Murphy.

Amos Abernathy has been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history. Someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Union soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first-century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and queer community will delight readers who loved The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy or Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World by Ashley Herring Blake.

Author’s note, with photographs. Suggested resources.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexism , Sexual Content: Reference/Discussion , Discrimination: Sexuality , Language: Mild Language , Language: Infrequent Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

304

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.7: points 9

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Aug 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Letters. Gay people. Historical reenactments. Nineteenth-century life. LGBTQ. Friendship. Activism. Schools. Epistolary books.

 


Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
For Grades 6-9

Help yourself to our C+ category and receive 12 more titles every year-coming-of-age tales and life lessons your teen readers are sure to love.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 6-9
Advanced Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Advanced Readers Plus

The Star That Always Stays

by Anna Rose Johnson

Advanced Readers Plus

September 2022

Breda's Island

by Jessie Ann Foley

Advanced Readers Plus

September 2022

Advanced Readers Plus

August 2022

Moonwalking

by Zetta Elliott

Advanced Readers Plus

July 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.