Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Hollow Fires



by
Samira Ahmed

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Hachette Book Group
Imprint
Little, Brown BFYR
ISBN
9780316282642
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Religious , Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: General
$22.25   $18.54
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A powerful, gripping YA novel about the insidious nature of racism, the terrible costs of unearthing hidden truths, and the undeniable power of hope, by New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed. Perfect for fans of Sadie and Dear Martin.

Safiya Mirza dreams of becoming a journalist. And one thing she’s learned as editor of her school newspaper is that a journalist’s job is to find the facts and not let personal biases affect the story. But all that changes the day she finds the body of a murdered boy.

Jawad Ali was fourteen years old when he built a cosplay jetpack that a teacher mistook for a bomb. A jetpack that got him arrested, labeled a terrorist—and eventually killed. But he’s more than a dead body, and more than “Bomb Boy.” He was a person with a life worth remembering.

Driven by Jawad’s haunting voice guiding her throughout her investigation, Safiya seeks to tell the whole truth about the murdered boy and those who killed him because of their hate-based beliefs.

This gripping and powerful book uses an innovative format and lyrical prose to expose the evil that exists in front of us, and the silent complicity of the privileged who create alternative facts to bend the truth to their liking.

“Glossary of Intangible Things.” Historical note. Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Religious , Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Strong Language , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Violence: General

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

416

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

5.1: points 12

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2022

Book Genres

Mystery, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Hate crimes. Murder investigation. Reporters and reporting. Muslim teenagers. White supremacy movements. Chicago, Illinois. Ghosts. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 10 & Up
High-Interest High Plus
For Grades 10 & Up

These exciting, age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction titles will appeal to even the most reluctant high-school readers. With that kind of appeal, the 14 books in this category will rarely sit on the shelf.

14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Struggling Readers,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 10 & Up
High-Interest High Plus
14 books per Year
$285.46 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From High-Interest High Plus

High-Interest High Plus

January 2023

Creep: A Love Story

by Lygia Day Peñaflor

High-Interest High Plus

December 2022

Nothing More to Tell

by Karen M. McManus

High-Interest High Plus

November 2022

The Honeys

by Ryan La Sala

High-Interest High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.