Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Rainbow in the Dark



by
Sean McGinty

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Imprint
Clarion
ISBN
9780358380375
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Suicide , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Reference or Discussion
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

PG High Plus

The Wizard of Oz meets Ready Player One in this darkly comic YA novel about identity, depression, giving up, and finding your way home.

High school senior Rainbow is trapped with three other teens in a game-like world that may or may not be real. Together, they must complete quests and gain experience in order to access their own forgotten memories, decode what has happened to them, and find a portal home.

As Rainbow’s memories slowly return, the story of a lonely teen facing senior year as the new kid in a small town emerges. Surreal, absurdist humor balances sensitively handled themes of suicide, depression, and the search for identity in an unpredictable and ultimately hopeful page-turner that's perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson, Adam Silvera, and Libba Bray's Going Bovine.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Suicide , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Reference or Discussion

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2021

Book Genres

Science Fiction, Time Travel

Topics

Identity (philosophical concept). Mental depression. Memory. Mental illness. Quests (expeditions). Virtual reality. Identity. Death. Suicide. Friendship. Grief. Time travel.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–Rainbow wakes up in a surreal world, with few memories of her previous life, not even knowing her own name. She soon meets up with other kids who are surviving in this dystopian game-world, always searching for the mythical “home portal” while they lose more and more memories. The plot is interspersed with memories of Rainbow’s life up until this point and pieces of the short story she wrote for English class (which was dark enough to get her sent to the school counselor). This existential story has heavy themes of depression and suicide which are not wholly lifted by the more positive ending. McGinty reflects both the absurdism and horror of living with mental illness. Older teens will better understand the more abstract ideas, but younger ones will still get something from this story. “Spells” in the game that prevent physical contact and censor all swear words keep this story PG-13 when it otherwise could be rated R. VERDICT Sartre’s No Exit if purgatory were a video game. Hand to teens with depression, who like “Dungeons and Dragons,” or who play indie video games; all three will feel seen.–Jeri Murphy, C.F. Simmons M.S., Aurora, IL

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–Rainbow wakes up in a surreal world, with few memories of her previous life, not even knowing her own name. She soon meets up with other kids who are surviving in this dystopian game-world, always searching for the mythical “home portal” while they lose more and more memories. The plot is interspersed with memories of Rainbow’s life up until this point and pieces of the short story she wrote for English class (which was dark enough to get her sent to the school counselor). This existential story has heavy themes of depression and suicide which are not wholly lifted by the more positive ending. McGinty reflects both the absurdism and horror of living with mental illness. Older teens will better understand the more abstract ideas, but younger ones will still get something from this story. “Spells” in the game that prevent physical contact and censor all swear words keep this story PG-13 when it otherwise could be rated R. VERDICT Sartre’s No Exit if purgatory were a video game. Hand to teens with depression, who like “Dungeons and Dragons,” or who play indie video games; all three will feel seen.–Jeri Murphy, C.F. Simmons M.S., Aurora, IL

Grades 9 & Up
PG High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

For high school readers who enjoy fascinating stories but want less edgy content, PGH is the perfect choice. Be assured that the 12 books offered in this category will be inoffensive to readers, teachers and parents.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
PG High Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From PG High Plus

Where I Belong

by Marcia Argueta Mickelson

PG High Plus

December 2021

PG High Plus

November 2021

PG High Plus

October 2021
Out of stock

Rainbow in the Dark

by Sean McGinty

PG High Plus

October 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.