Spin the Dawn

By: Elizabeth Lim

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Map.

ISBN: 9780525647003

JLG Release: Oct 2019


Sensitive Areas: Mild language, Strong sexual themes, Violence
Topics: Fantasy , Magic , Tailors , Sewing , Shapeshifters , Romance , Royalty

$17.85  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

Grades 9-12

14 titles/year

$249.90/year

Awards & Honors

NPR’s Book Concierge - 2019

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist

School Library Journal

When a royal messenger comes calling, Maia Tamarin uproots her life as a seamstress to take her father’s place at the Summer Palace. Posing as her brother, Maia competes for the title of imperial tailor, amid schemes, lies, and one very persistent court enchanter, Edan. Her final test as a tailor launches her on a journey across the kingdom to cr When a royal messenger comes calling, Maia Tamarin uproots her life as a seamstress to take her father’s place at the Summer Palace. Posing as her brother, Maia competes for the title of imperial tailor, amid schemes, lies, and one very persistent court enchanter, Edan. Her final test as a tailor launches her on a journey across the kingdom to create three legendary dresses out of the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. However, completing this task means testing the limits of body, mind, and soul—something Maia may not be ready for. This immersive Chinese-inspired fantasy is a great debut novel. Maia’s country of A’landi is rich with detail, from its Five Winters War to its expansive Great Spice Road. The quick-moving plot at the beginning of the novel gives way to a more intricate and refined story line later on. Though the delightful romance between Maia and Edan comes across initially as forced, it’s given room to develop as they ­traverse the kingdom for Maia’s final tailor task. Maia is a powerful figure, though, as with many, it’s through trust in herself that she discovers just how influential she can become. An addictive magical adventure that’s a strong purchase for library shelves.

Book Details

ISBN

9780525647003

First Release

October 2019

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

400

Accelerated Reader

N/A

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Knopf

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Mild language, Strong sexual themes, Violence

Topics

Fantasy, Magic, Tailors, Sewing, Shapeshifters, Romance, Royalty,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Titles in Series: The Blood of Stars

Spin the Dawn

by Elizabeth Lim

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

Recommended Titles From Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

Rogue Heart

by Axie Oh

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

The Beautiful

by Renée Ahdieh

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

Kingdom of Souls

by Rena Barron

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85

Spin the Dawn

by Elizabeth Lim

Fantasy/Science Fiction High Plus

$17.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.