Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Jude Banks, Superhero



by
Ann Hood

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Penguin Workshop
ISBN
9780593094075
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Medical: Graphic Descriptions , Language: Moderate Language , Language: Infrequent Use , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion
$20.22   $16.85
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

New York Times best-selling author Ann Hood pens a poignant story of grief and resilience, perfect for readers of The Line Tender and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Katie was Jude’s favorite person in the world. And not many brothers say that about their sister and mean it. But to Jude, Katie was everything—the person who made him learn how to say “I love you” in every language, who performed dramatic readings of Romeo and Juliet, who obsessed over every item on the diner menu looking for the most authentic diner meal. The one who called him “Jude Banks, Superhero,” because to her, Jude was the best.

She was also the person who died. Out of nowhere, and without a goodbye. And Jude believes he was the one who killed her.

Now, twelve-year-old Jude must figure out what life looks like without his favorite person. With Mom checked out, and Dad just trying to do his best, Jude enters a world of grief youth groups and dropped-off lasagnas. It’s only when he meets a girl named Clementine, who also lost a sibling, that he begins to imagine a world where maybe things might be okay. But Clementine is nursing a terrible guilt, and even though Katie called Jude a “superhero,” he isn’t sure he can save her.

In her signature prose, Hood crafts an extraordinary story of grief and resilience, asking the important question: How does a family begin to heal?

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Medical: Graphic Descriptions , Language: Moderate Language , Language: Infrequent Use , Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Brothers and sisters. Death of a sibling. Grief. Family life. Guilt. Superheroes. Resilience (personality trait). Support groups. Friendship. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 5-8
Realistic Fiction Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Stories with strong, relatable characters that portray believable contemporary or historical real-life experiences.

14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books/Novels,Diversity,Fiction,History,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Realistic Fiction Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$235.90 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero

by Saadia Faruqi

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

December 2021

Being Clem

by Lesa Cline-Ransome

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

November 2021

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

October 2021

Realistic Fiction Middle Plus

October 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.