Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

I Don't Want to Read This Book



by
Max Greenfield
illustrated by
Mike Lowery

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
G.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN
9780593326060
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$17.76   $14.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

From actor Max Greenfield (fan-favorite “Schmidt” from television’s New Girl) comes a hilarious picture book for every child who thinks they don’t like to read books (and all the kids—and grownups—who do).

Words, sentences, and even worse, paragraphs fill up books. Ugh! So what’s a reluctant reader to do? Actor Max Greenfield (New Girl) and New York Times bestselling illustrator Mike Lowery bring the energy and laugh-out-loud fun out for every child (and parent) who thinks they don’t want to read a book. Joining the ranks of favorites like The Book With No Pictures and The Serious Goose, this clever and playful read-aloud breaks the fourth wall and will have all readers coming back for laughs again and again!

Full-color illustrations done first with pencils, then with digital media. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

9 1/2" x 8 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

3.2: points 0.5

Lexile

AD700L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2022

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Books and reading. Humorous stories. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 2-Silly, funny, and visually appealing, this work will appeal to reluctant and avid readers. An unseen narrator rails against having to read a book containing everything unpleasant: words, sentences, and especially paragraphs. The snarky, mischievous tone and colorful cartoonlike word art illustrations enhance the satire. A variety of typefaces and jumbled comments keep things interesting. The narrator questions the need for extraneous, unpronounced letters in words, such as "doubt" and for long words, such as " infinitesimal" for such small things. While castigating the entire concept of reading a whole book, the narrator actually reads the whole book, and in the process offers information to those joining him. VERDICT A great classroom read-aloud bound to make listeners join in the fun.-Eva Elisabeth VonAncken

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 2-Silly, funny, and visually appealing, this work will appeal to reluctant and avid readers. An unseen narrator rails against having to read a book containing everything unpleasant: words, sentences, and especially paragraphs. The snarky, mischievous tone and colorful cartoonlike word art illustrations enhance the satire. A variety of typefaces and jumbled comments keep things interesting. The narrator questions the need for extraneous, unpronounced letters in words, such as "doubt" and for long words, such as " infinitesimal" for such small things. While castigating the entire concept of reading a whole book, the narrator actually reads the whole book, and in the process offers information to those joining him. VERDICT A great classroom read-aloud bound to make listeners join in the fun.-Eva Elisabeth VonAncken

Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Fans of Mac Barnett, Ursula Vernon, and Jeff Kinney will get their fill of belly laughs with the 12 books in this category. Sure to keep smiles alive.

14 books per Year
$250.74 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Transitional Readers,ESL,Fiction,Funny/Humorous,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$250.74 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Humor Elementary Plus

Humor Elementary Plus

December 2022

Humor Elementary Plus

November 2022

Humor Elementary Plus

October 2022

Your Pal Fred

by Michael C. Rex

Humor Elementary Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.