Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Secret Fawn



by
Kallie George
illustrated by
Elly MacKay

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
PRHC
Imprint
Tundra Books
ISBN
9780735265165
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$18.30   $15.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can’t pick the first apple of autumn because she’s too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer…except her. She goes into her backyard in search of the deer, a sugar cube tucked in her pocket. She sees a flick of brown in the orchard—is that the deer? No, it’s just the neighbor’s friendly dog (Shhhhh, Nala!). Is that it by the pond? No, that’s just a bird, playing in the water. Just when she’s about to give up, she spots a fawn, beautiful, quiet and small…just like her.

The Secret Fawn beautifully captures the power of nature to inspire children and shows how connecting with animals can help kids who feel left out or overlooked.Full-color illustratrions created with ink, paper, and light.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

10" x 8"

Dewey

E

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

AD430L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2021

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Being little. Family life. Deer. Animals. Fawns. Nature and the natural world. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Her family sees a deer while hanging out laundry in a translucent dawn, but the pigtailed protagonist of this spare picture book misses it because “I was getting dressed all by myself.” It’s not the first time she’s felt out of step with her family—too short to pick apples, too young to stay up late to see shooting stars—so she heads out alone later that still-misty morning with a sugar cube in hope of finding the deer. At first her search is fruitless, revealing only a bird and the neighbor’s dog, but once she settles quietly in the wet grass, her patience is rewarded—not by the deer, but by its fawn. The magic of this solitary moment is framed and enlarged by the sfumato technique of MacKay’s glowing illustrations (“using ink, paper, and light”), which give the illusion of light emerging from a source just out of sight or, conversely, pouring gloriously off the page. Cut paper adds definition; salt stippling creates the impression of apple blossoms; the whole becomes a world set apart from the ordinary. The protagonist, too, is out of the ordinary: returning home, she keeps her encounter with the fawn secret, her rich inner life bringing its own rewards. ANITA L. BURKAM

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Her family sees a deer while hanging out laundry in a translucent dawn, but the pigtailed protagonist of this spare picture book misses it because “I was getting dressed all by myself.” It’s not the first time she’s felt out of step with her family—too short to pick apples, too young to stay up late to see shooting stars—so she heads out alone later that still-misty morning with a sugar cube in hope of finding the deer. At first her search is fruitless, revealing only a bird and the neighbor’s dog, but once she settles quietly in the wet grass, her patience is rewarded—not by the deer, but by its fawn. The magic of this solitary moment is framed and enlarged by the sfumato technique of MacKay’s glowing illustrations (“using ink, paper, and light”), which give the illusion of light emerging from a source just out of sight or, conversely, pouring gloriously off the page. Cut paper adds definition; salt stippling creates the impression of apple blossoms; the whole becomes a world set apart from the ordinary. The protagonist, too, is out of the ordinary: returning home, she keeps her encounter with the fawn secret, her rich inner life bringing its own rewards. ANITA L. BURKAM

ages 2-5
Pre-Kindergarten Plus
For ages 2-5

Eye-catching concept books and playful stories make this category perfect for one-on-one or group sharing. With 12 books per year, the fun will never stop.

14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year
Interests
Animals,Beginning Readers,Fiction,Nonfiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
ages 2-5
Pre-Kindergarten Plus
14 books per Year
$213.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Pre-Kindergarten Plus

Vrooom, Vrooom!

by Mary Lyn Ray

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

August 2021

Hello, Moon

by Julie Downing

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

July 2021

Yes & No

by Elisha Cooper

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

June 2021

Pre-Kindergarten Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.