Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Puffin Keeper



by
Michael Morpurgo
illustrated by
Benji Davies

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House Canada
Imprint
Puffin Canada
ISBN
9780735271807
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

From bestselling author Michael Morpurgo comes a beautifully illustrated classic story about a lighthouse keeper, a daring rescue and puffins, for fans of War Horse and The One and Only Ivan.

As a child, Allen is saved from a nautical disaster by Benjamin Postlethwaite, a solitary lighthouse keeper. Years later, Allen returns to the lighthouse, and the two nurse an injured young puffin back to health. When Allen is called up to fight in World War Two, he's not sure he'll see his mother or Benjamin again, but his fond memories of his time at the lighthouse keep him going, even through prison camp.

Allen and Ben's enduring friendship over the years is the basis for this story about friendship, art, war and an incredibly adorable puffin. From masterful storyteller Michael Morpurgo and world-class illustrator Benji Davies comes this truly beautiful tale which will enchant readers of all ages.

Afterword. Full-color illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

112

Trim Size

6 3/4" x 9"

Dewey

F

AR

4.8: points 1

Lexile

830L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2022

Book Genres

Chapter Book, Historical Fiction, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Lighthouses. Lighthouse keepers. Shipwrecks. Rescues. Puffins. World War II (1939–1945). Friendship. Art. Painting. Family. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 3-6-Tossed into each other's paths by a turbulent sea, a stout-hearted lighthouse keeper and a young boy make an indelible mark on each other's lives in this stirring tale. Benjamin Postlethwait lives a solitary life as the keeper of a lighthouse on Puffin Island off the coast of England. Despite being named for the birds who once inhabited it in droves, Puffin Island has not been home to puffins for many years. One stormy night, Ben heroically rescues a group of 30 seafarers, among them a young boy named Allen Williams. Taking shelter in the warmth of the lighthouse, the boy is enthralled by the keeper's paintings lining the walls. Upon the boy's departure, Ben gifts Allen one of his paintings, and with this gift, an artist is born. Allen and his mother continue on their journey to the mainland, where Allen's subsequent childhood years are rocky, buoyed only by his passion for art. At the conclusion of his schooling, Allen finds himself compelled to return to Puffin Island-and there his friendship with Ben is cemented in the rescue of a lone puffin. Thus begins many years of tutelage, friendship, and the return of puffins to Puffin Island. Morpurgo's narrative is propelled by small revelatory moments between characters: the gift of a painting, the rescue of a bird, a boy teaching an old man how to read. This work, while melancholy in parts, will certainly appeal to young readers, especially fans of historical fiction. Davies has a keen ability to render tempestuous and placid scenes with equal emotion. His digital illustrations' vintage, painterly quality perfectly suit the text. VERDICT Whether on land or at sea, this tale of lasting friendship delivers adventure and charm in spades. A welcome addition to most collections.-Sarah Simpson

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 3-6-Tossed into each other's paths by a turbulent sea, a stout-hearted lighthouse keeper and a young boy make an indelible mark on each other's lives in this stirring tale. Benjamin Postlethwait lives a solitary life as the keeper of a lighthouse on Puffin Island off the coast of England. Despite being named for the birds who once inhabited it in droves, Puffin Island has not been home to puffins for many years. One stormy night, Ben heroically rescues a group of 30 seafarers, among them a young boy named Allen Williams. Taking shelter in the warmth of the lighthouse, the boy is enthralled by the keeper's paintings lining the walls. Upon the boy's departure, Ben gifts Allen one of his paintings, and with this gift, an artist is born. Allen and his mother continue on their journey to the mainland, where Allen's subsequent childhood years are rocky, buoyed only by his passion for art. At the conclusion of his schooling, Allen finds himself compelled to return to Puffin Island-and there his friendship with Ben is cemented in the rescue of a lone puffin. Thus begins many years of tutelage, friendship, and the return of puffins to Puffin Island. Morpurgo's narrative is propelled by small revelatory moments between characters: the gift of a painting, the rescue of a bird, a boy teaching an old man how to read. This work, while melancholy in parts, will certainly appeal to young readers, especially fans of historical fiction. Davies has a keen ability to render tempestuous and placid scenes with equal emotion. His digital illustrations' vintage, painterly quality perfectly suit the text. VERDICT Whether on land or at sea, this tale of lasting friendship delivers adventure and charm in spades. A welcome addition to most collections.-Sarah Simpson

Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers Plus
For Grades 3-5

We just couldn't stop there. Our A category is so rich, we extended it with an A+ category-giving you the opportunity to receive 12 additional Intermediate titles every year.

14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Transitional Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Intermediate Readers Plus

New Kids and Underdogs

by Margaret Finnegan

Intermediate Readers Plus

January 2023

Intermediate Readers Plus

December 2022

Odder

by Katherine Applegate

Intermediate Readers Plus

November 2022
Out of stock

Always, Clementine

by Carlie Sorosiak

Intermediate Readers Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.