Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Puffin Keeper



by
Michael Morpurgo
illustrated by
Benji Davies

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Penguin Random House Canada
Imprint
Puffin Canada
ISBN
9780735271807
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War
$19.56   $16.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

From bestselling author Michael Morpurgo comes a beautifully illustrated classic story about a lighthouse keeper, a daring rescue and puffins, for fans of War Horse and The One and Only Ivan.

As a child, Allen is saved from a nautical disaster by Benjamin Postlethwaite, a solitary lighthouse keeper. Years later, Allen returns to the lighthouse, and the two nurse an injured young puffin back to health. When Allen is called up to fight in World War Two, he's not sure he'll see his mother or Benjamin again, but his fond memories of his time at the lighthouse keep him going, even through prison camp.

Allen and Ben's enduring friendship over the years is the basis for this story about friendship, art, war and an incredibly adorable puffin. From masterful storyteller Michael Morpurgo and world-class illustrator Benji Davies comes this truly beautiful tale which will enchant readers of all ages.

Afterword. Full-color illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

112

Trim Size

6 3/4" x 9"

Dewey

F

AR

4.8: points 1

Lexile

830L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Apr 2022

Book Genres

Chapter Book, Historical Fiction, Realistic Fiction

Topics

Lighthouses. Lighthouse keepers. Shipwrecks. Rescues. Puffins. World War II (1939–1945). Friendship. Art. Painting. Family. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers Plus
For Grades 3-5

We just couldn't stop there. Our A category is so rich, we extended it with an A+ category-giving you the opportunity to receive 12 additional Intermediate titles every year.

14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Fiction,Transitional Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 3-5
Intermediate Readers Plus
14 books per Year
$276.08 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Intermediate Readers Plus

The Turtle of Michigan

by Naomi Shihab Nye

Intermediate Readers Plus

July 2022

Water, Water

by Cary Fagan

Intermediate Readers Plus

June 2022

Intermediate Readers Plus

May 2022

The Puffin Keeper

by Michael Morpurgo

Intermediate Readers Plus

April 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.