Itch

By: Polly Farquhar

After a tornado tears the roof of the school cafeteria, and Itch’s mother goes on a two-month business trip in China, Itch’s sixth grade year begins badly—particularly because he can’t do fractions. At least he has his job at the pheasant farm, and the guys at school and Sydney to hang out with when he’s not working. But when trading school lunches goes wrong and Sydney gets rushed away in an ambulance, Itch thinks it’s his fault. When you suddenly don’t have any friends, would you do anything—even things that are wrong—to get them back?

ISBN: 9780823445523

JLG Release: Apr 2020


Sensitive Areas: None
Topics: Friendship , Middle schools , Food allergies , Itching , Family life , Ohio , Bullying

$16.85  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

PG Middle Plus

Grades 5-8

14 titles/year

$235.90/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

After barely escaping the gale-force winds of a tornado with his best friend Sydney, what else could possibly go wrong for sixth grader Isaac Fitch? Quit a lot, apparently. For starters, he still struggles to fit in at school and won’t have his mom’s sage advice, because she’s off on a two-month business trip to China. Having moved to rural O After barely escaping the gale-force winds of a tornado with his best friend Sydney, what else could possibly go wrong for sixth grader Isaac Fitch? Quit a lot, apparently. For starters, he still struggles to fit in at school and won’t have his mom’s sage advice, because she’s off on a two-month business trip to China. Having moved to rural Ohio from New York, his father’s lackluster interest in Ohio State football is an oddity in a town that oozes Buckeye pride on game day. To top it all off, his classmates call him “Itch” because he has a chronic itching condition called idiopathic angioedema which requires the use of an EpiPen in emergency situations. Isaac’s job at Mr. Epple’s pheasant farm normally brings him relief from his social acceptance issues, but even that becomes complicated when he’s pressured to steal one of Mr. Epple’s pheasants. Add to this a sandwich switch at lunch which causes Sydney to be rushed to the hospital in an ambulance due to her food allergies, and you’ve got stress in overdrive. Isaac is desperate to do whatever it takes to set things right again. While Farquhar, an Ohio State alumni, lays it on heavy with football game day fever of the Midwest, her comedic skills keep the reader from being bogged down with football jargon and terminology. The author’s lived experiences of managing her own idiopathic angioedema and her daughters’ food allergies gives her firsthand knowledge with chronic illnesses such as the ones Isaac and Sydney have. A heartwarming story that encompasses serious issues such as bullying, chronic illness, and peer pressure while navigating the awkward years of middle school. Fans of Gordon Korman’s Restart and Jacqueline Davies’s Nothing but Trouble should enjoy the symmetry of circumstances in this title.

Book Details

ISBN

9780823445523

First Release

April 2020

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

256

Accelerated Reader

N/A

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Holiday House

Potentially Sensitive Areas

None

Topics

Friendship, Middle schools, Food allergies, Itching, Family life, Ohio, Bullying,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Recommended Titles From PG Middle Plus

Bad Best Friend

by Rachel Vail

PG Middle Plus

$16.85

A Wish in the Dark

by Christina Soontornvat

PG Middle Plus

$16.85

PG Middle Plus

$16.85

Itch

by Polly Farquhar

PG Middle Plus

$16.85
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.