Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Murder for the Modern Girl



by
Kendall Kulper

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Holiday House
Imprint
Holiday House
ISBN
9780823449729
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Sexual Content: Sexual Harassment , Language: Moderate Language
$23.57   $19.64
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Gatsby-era glamour, a swoon-worthy love story, and an indomitable heroine dazzle in this romp that captures the extravagance of the Roaring Twenties and the dangers of vigilante justice.

A ravishing young mind reader stalks the streets at night in kitten heels, prowling for men to murder.

A soft-spoken genius toils away in the city morgue, desperate to unearth the science behind his gift for shapeshifting.

It’s a match made in 1928 Chicago, where gangsters run City Hall, jazz fills the air, and every good girl’s purse conceals a flask.

Until now, eighteen-year-old Ruby’s penchant for poison has been a secret. No one knows that she uses her mind-reading abilities to target men who prey on vulnerable women, men who escape the clutches of Chicago “justice.” When she meets a brilliant boy working at the morgue, his knack for forensic detail threatens to uncover her dark hobby. Even more unfortunately: sharp, independent Ruby has fallen in love with him.

Waltzing between a supernaturally enhanced romance, the battle to take down a gentleman’s club, and loyal friendships worth their weight in diamonds, Ruby brings defiant charm to every spectacular page of Murder for the Modern Girl—not to mention killer fashion. An irresistible caper perfect for fans of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: General , Sexual Content: Mild Sexual Content/Themes , Sexual Content: Sexual Harassment , Language: Moderate Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

352

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jul 2022

Book Genres

Thriller, Supernatural

Topics

Telepathy. Shapeshifting. Murder investigation. Vigilantes. Conspiracies. Fathers and daughters. The 1920s. Twentieth-century history of Chicago, Illinois. Romance. Paranormal.  

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
Current Trends High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

The 12 books in this category contain stories featuring highly popular themes such as vampires, werewolves, steampunk, and dystopia.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Nonfiction,Thriller/Horror/Mystery,Novels
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Current Trends High Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Current Trends High Plus

Scout's Honor

by Lily Anderson

Current Trends High Plus

September 2022

Current Trends High Plus

September 2022

Our Crooked Hearts: A Novel

by Melissa Albert

Current Trends High Plus

August 2022

Murder for the Modern Girl

by Kendall Kulper

Current Trends High Plus

July 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.