Stargazing

By: Jen Wang

Moon is everything Christine isn't. She’s confident, impulsive, artistic …and though they both grew up in the same Chinese American suburb, Moon is somehow unlike anyone Christine has ever known. But after Moon moves in next door, these unlikely friends are soon best friends, sharing their favorite music videos and painting their toenails when Christine's strict parents aren't around. Moon even tells Christine her deepest secret: that she has visions, sometimes, of celestial beings who speak to her from the stars. Who reassure her that Earth isn't where she really belongs.

Moon's visions have an all-too-earthly root, however, and soon Christine's best friend is in the hospital, fighting for her life. Can Christine be the friend Moon needs, now, when the sky is falling?

Afterword with photographs. Full-color illustrations done with pencil, pen, and Photoshop.

ISBN: 9781250183873

JLG Release: Feb 2020


Sensitive Areas: Negative attitudes toward differing mental abilities
Topics: Friendship , Family , Asian Americans , Chinese Americans , Bullying , Imagination , Introspection , Graphic novels

$17.05  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

Grades 3-6

14 titles/year

$238.70/year

Awards & Honors

Kirkus Best Books - 2019
SLJ Best Books - 2019
NPR’s Book Concierge - 2019
Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Winner - 2020

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Publishers Weekly*, Booklist*, School Library Journal*, Kirkus Reviews*, The Horn Book Magazine

School Library Journal

With her surreal drawings, her penchant for bright nail polish, her lax study habits, and her inability to speak Chinese, Moon Li is nothing like the ­other kids in her Chinese American ­community. And she couldn’t be more different from perfectionist Christine Hong. But when Christine’s parents rent a property to Moon and her mother, who are With her surreal drawings, her penchant for bright nail polish, her lax study habits, and her inability to speak Chinese, Moon Li is nothing like the ­other kids in her Chinese American ­community. And she couldn’t be more different from perfectionist Christine Hong. But when Christine’s parents rent a property to Moon and her mother, who are having trouble making ends meet, it’s the beginning of a beautiful friendship. Free-spirited Moon fascinates Christine. However, when Moon tells Christine that she has visions of celestial beings who will one day take her with them to the skies, where she’ll finally fit in, Christine realizes that her new pal’s confidence masks pain. And when Moon starts to connect with other classmates, Christine’s own insecurities threaten their bond. Relying on a muted palette and careful linework, Eisner Award nominee Wang has crafted an understated, poignant tale of the joy and turmoil of budding friendship. She artfully laces her narrative with questions about identity as Christine and Moon quietly wonder about what it means to belong to a ­community. Though Wang doesn’t provide pat ­answers, her characters do manage to carve out a place for themselves. With this spot-on glimpse into the emotional landscape of tweens, Wang joins the ranks of middle grade masters Shannon Hale, Raina Telgemeier, and Cece Bell.

Horn Book

In Wang’s (The Prince and the Dressmaker, rev. 3/18) middle-grade graphic novel, Christine follows the rules and tries to live up to her strict Chinese immigrant parents’ expectations. When a new girl—unconventional, self-confident, uninhibited Moon—and her single mom move into Christine’s family’s in-law apartment, life gets mor In Wang’s (The Prince and the Dressmaker, rev. 3/18) middle-grade graphic novel, Christine follows the rules and tries to live up to her strict Chinese immigrant parents’ expectations. When a new girl—unconventional, self-confident, uninhibited Moon—and her single mom move into Christine’s family’s in-law apartment, life gets more interesting: Christine learns some dance moves for the school talent show, lets Moon paint her toenails (her parents disapprove of nail polish), and tries new foods. Cracks appear in the girls’ close friendship—especially when Moon and another classmate become friends, causing a jealous Christine to act like not a good friend—until a medical catastrophe befalls Moon. Family and friendship dynamics are portrayed honestly and realistically (Christine standing up to her father: “You want everyone to be perfect! Especially me!”), but the focus of the story is kept tightly on the two main characters. Panels in a variety of shapes and sizes and a judicious use of white space pace the graphic novel effectively. A natural for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer L. Holm, and Victoria Jamieson.

Book Details

ISBN

9781250183873

First Release

February 2020

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

224

Accelerated Reader

Level 2.5; Points: 1;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 3.8; Points: 4;

Lexile

Level 510L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

First Second

Potentially Sensitive Areas

Negative attitudes toward differing mental abilities

Topics

Friendship, Family, Asian Americans, Chinese Americans, Bullying, Imagination, Introspection, Graphic novels,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Graphic Novels

Recommended Titles From Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05

Graphic Novels Elementary Plus

$17.05
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.