Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Ambassador of Nowhere Texas



by
Kimberly Willis Holt

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmilla
Imprint
Henry Holt and Company, Inc.
ISBN
9781250234100
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism
$21.12   $17.60
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A stunning post-9/11 companion to the National Book Award-winner When Zachary Beaver Came to Town.

Decades after the Vietnam War and Toby’s life-changing summer with Zachary Beaver, Toby’s daughter Rylee is at a crossroads—her best friend Twig has started pushing her away just as Joe, a new kid from New York, settles into their small town of Antler. Rylee befriends Joe and learns that Joe's father was a first responder on 9/11. The two unlikely friends soon embark on a project to find Zachary Beaver and hopefully reconnect him with Rylee's father almost thirty years later.

This beautiful novel is a tribute to friendships—old and new—and explores the challenges of rebuilding what may seem lost or destroyed. For readers of Wishtree and See You in the Cosmos.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

320

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 25/"

Dewey

F

AR

4.7: points 7

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2021

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Topics

Best friends. Friendship. Family life. Texas. 9/11.  Small town life. September 11 terrorist attacks, New York City, 2001.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

The narrator of this sequel to National Book Award winner When Zachary Beaver Came to Town (rev. 11/99) is Rylee Wilson, daughter of the first book’s protagonist, Toby. At the beginning of seventh grade, Rylee watches Twig, her former BFF, pull away, seeking new friends and new interests. In a prophetic observation, Toby tells Rylee: “People come and go even when we don’t want them to.” And one person who unexpectedly comes into Rylee’s life is Joe, unhappily transplanted from Brooklyn to Rylee’s hometown of Antler, a place he immediately dubs as Nowhere, Texas. As self-proclaimed ambassador Rylee tries to get Joe to accept and appreciate her town (and herself to understand her changed relationship with Twig), the two begin a quest to track down Zachary Beaver, Rylee’s father’s onetime friend. She wonders about the wisdom of such a search, but, as Joe tells her, “If you’re a true friend, you’re a friend for life.” Toby, now a social studies teacher, believes that history is about people. Mirroring that belief, Holt deftly intertwines the stories of the individuals from both books, each set at a pivotal time in our country’s past, the earlier work during the Vietnam War and the latter in the aftermath of 9/11. This volume is a literary reunion of sorts, but more important is its deep examination of the meaning and responsibilities of friendship, family, and community. While Holt’s latest can stand alone, its considerable strengths shine brighter when read with Zachary Beaver (see also “Hello Again” on page XXX). BETTY CARTER

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

The narrator of this sequel to National Book Award winner When Zachary Beaver Came to Town (rev. 11/99) is Rylee Wilson, daughter of the first book’s protagonist, Toby. At the beginning of seventh grade, Rylee watches Twig, her former BFF, pull away, seeking new friends and new interests. In a prophetic observation, Toby tells Rylee: “People come and go even when we don’t want them to.” And one person who unexpectedly comes into Rylee’s life is Joe, unhappily transplanted from Brooklyn to Rylee’s hometown of Antler, a place he immediately dubs as Nowhere, Texas. As self-proclaimed ambassador Rylee tries to get Joe to accept and appreciate her town (and herself to understand her changed relationship with Twig), the two begin a quest to track down Zachary Beaver, Rylee’s father’s onetime friend. She wonders about the wisdom of such a search, but, as Joe tells her, “If you’re a true friend, you’re a friend for life.” Toby, now a social studies teacher, believes that history is about people. Mirroring that belief, Holt deftly intertwines the stories of the individuals from both books, each set at a pivotal time in our country’s past, the earlier work during the Vietnam War and the latter in the aftermath of 9/11. This volume is a literary reunion of sorts, but more important is its deep examination of the meaning and responsibilities of friendship, family, and community. While Holt’s latest can stand alone, its considerable strengths shine brighter when read with Zachary Beaver (see also “Hello Again” on page XXX). BETTY CARTER

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
For Grades 5-7

A great way to ensure more titles for your middle-grade readers-with 12 additional popular B titles arriving at your door every year.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

One Small Hop

by Madelyn Rosenberg

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

August 2021

Where We Used to Roam

by Jenn Bishop

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

July 2021

These Unlucky Stars

by Gillian McDunn

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

June 2021

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.