Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Fly on the Wall

By: Remy Lai

Henry Khoo's family treats him like a baby. He’s forbidden from going anywhere without his sister/bodyguard. His (former) best friend knows to expect his mom's mafia-style interrogation when Henry’s allowed to hang out at her house. And he definitely CAN’T take an international flight by himself!

But that’s exactly Henry's plan. After the Khoos’ trip to visit his dad in Singapore is canceled, Henry decides he doesn’t want to be cooped up with his family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he’s hiding a HUGE secret: He’s the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he's on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr…hoping it won’t turn into the greatest disaster ever.

Recipe for kaya toast. Two-color illustrations.

ISBN: 9781250314116

JLG Release: Dec 2020


Sensitive Areas: None
Topics: Journals , Voyages and travels , Family life , Australia , Singapore , Friendship , Schools , Drawings , Cartoons and comics , Blogs , Self-esteem and self-reliance , Humor  

$16.30  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

Grades 5-7

14 titles/year

$228.20/year

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

Henry Khoo is tired of being babied by his family and invisible at school. Trying to declare independence from both, he started the infamous “Fly on the Wall” blog, which spreads gossip about his schoolmates, and is currently on his way to the airport for an unauthorized trip from Perth, Australia, (where he lives with his helicoptering mom, si Henry Khoo is tired of being babied by his family and invisible at school. Trying to declare independence from both, he started the infamous “Fly on the Wall” blog, which spreads gossip about his schoolmates, and is currently on his way to the airport for an unauthorized trip from Perth, Australia, (where he lives with his helicoptering mom, sister, and grandmother), to Singapore for a surprise visit to his dad. On the way, he must deal with a former best friend, a lurking nemesis, a seatmate who could double as an encyclopedia, and an online comment from the unknown “Frog in the Well,” threatening that Frog is going to out Henry to Principal Trang as the creator of the notorious blog. Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound in this novel, which will endear it to readers who like “Big Nate” and “Wimpy Kid,” but Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust. Henry’s hero journey is replete with pitfalls and moments of self awareness, both of which lead him to a better understanding of why he does what he does (he’s lonely) and why his family is so overprotective (they love him). Any kid who recognizes that they have weaknesses will identify with and cheer for Henry. Highly recommended for libraries that serve tweens.

Book Details

ISBN

9781250314116

First Release

December 2020

Genre

Fiction

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

336

Accelerated Reader

Level 4.6; Points: 5;

Scholastic Reading Counts

N/A

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Henry Holt and Company, Inc.

Potentially Sensitive Areas

None

Topics

Journals, Voyages and travels, Family life, Australia, Singapore, Friendship, Schools, Drawings, Cartoons and comics, Blogs, Self-esteem and self-reliance, Humor, 

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction

Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

The Ambassador of Nowhere Texas

by Kimberly Willis Holt

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$17.60

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30

Three Keys

by Kelly Yang

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30

Fly on the Wall

by Remy Lai

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

$16.30
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.