Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Fly on the Wall



by
Remy Lai

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Henry Holt and Company, Inc.
Imprint
Print
ISBN
9781250314116
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$14.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

Henry Khoo's family treats him like a baby. He’s forbidden from going anywhere without his sister/bodyguard. His (former) best friend knows to expect his mom's mafia-style interrogation when Henry’s allowed to hang out at her house. And he definitely CAN’T take an international flight by himself!

But that’s exactly Henry's plan. After the Khoos’ trip to visit his dad in Singapore is canceled, Henry decides he doesn’t want to be cooped up with his family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he’s hiding a HUGE secret: He’s the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he's on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr…hoping it won’t turn into the greatest disaster ever.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

8" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

4.6: points 5

Lexile

680L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Dec 2020

Book Genres

Fiction

Topics

Journals. Voyages and travels. Family life. Australia. Singapore. Friendship. Schools. Drawings. Cartoons and comics. Blogs. Self-esteem and self-reliance. Humor. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

Henry Khoo is tired of being babied by his family and invisible at school. Trying to declare independence from both, he started the infamous “Fly on the Wall” blog, which spreads gossip about his schoolmates, and is currently on his way to the airport for an unauthorized trip from Perth, Australia, (where he lives with his helicoptering mom, sister, and grandmother), to Singapore for a surprise visit to his dad. On the way, he must deal with a former best friend, a lurking nemesis, a seatmate who could double as an encyclopedia, and an online comment from the unknown “Frog in the Well,” threatening that Frog is going to out Henry to Principal Trang as the creator of the notorious blog. Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound in this novel, which will endear it to readers who like “Big Nate” and “Wimpy Kid,” but Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust. Henry’s hero journey is replete with pitfalls and moments of self awareness, both of which lead him to a better understanding of why he does what he does (he’s lonely) and why his family is so overprotective (they love him). Any kid who recognizes that they have weaknesses will identify with and cheer for Henry. Highly recommended for libraries that serve tweens.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Henry Khoo is tired of being babied by his family and invisible at school. Trying to declare independence from both, he started the infamous “Fly on the Wall” blog, which spreads gossip about his schoolmates, and is currently on his way to the airport for an unauthorized trip from Perth, Australia, (where he lives with his helicoptering mom, sister, and grandmother), to Singapore for a surprise visit to his dad. On the way, he must deal with a former best friend, a lurking nemesis, a seatmate who could double as an encyclopedia, and an online comment from the unknown “Frog in the Well,” threatening that Frog is going to out Henry to Principal Trang as the creator of the notorious blog. Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound in this novel, which will endear it to readers who like “Big Nate” and “Wimpy Kid,” but Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust. Henry’s hero journey is replete with pitfalls and moments of self awareness, both of which lead him to a better understanding of why he does what he does (he’s lonely) and why his family is so overprotective (they love him). Any kid who recognizes that they have weaknesses will identify with and cheer for Henry. Highly recommended for libraries that serve tweens.

Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
For Grades 5-7

A great way to ensure more titles for your middle-grade readers-with 12 additional popular B titles arriving at your door every year.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Clean Books,Chapter Books/Novels,Fiction,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-7
Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

Where We Used to Roam

by Jenn Bishop

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

July 2021

These Unlucky Stars

by Gillian McDunn

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

June 2021

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

May 2021

365 Days to Alaska

by Cathy Carr

Upper Elementary & Junior High Plus

April 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.